RECENT POSTS
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
WeWork Liabilities, Part II

Tuesday, August 20, 2019
WeWork’s Liabilities in Perspective

Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Comparing LinkedIn, Twitter Revenue

Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Leasing’s Effect on Retail Balance Sheets

Thursday, August 1, 2019
Using Calcbench to Find China Exposure

Tuesday, July 30, 2019
Leasing Details: The Comcast Example

Monday, July 29, 2019
Easy Fundamental Equity Analysis in Python

Monday, July 22, 2019
Calcbench Data and Tax Reform Insight

Wednesday, July 17, 2019
Downshifting in the Trucking World

Tuesday, July 16, 2019
New Report: Adoption of New Lease Accounting Standard

Friday, July 5, 2019
More Consequences of Lease Accounting

Monday, July 1, 2019
Another Example of Tax Reform Twisting Bottom Line

Thursday, June 27, 2019
The Latest Share Repurchase Data

Tuesday, June 18, 2019
Popping the Lid on Smuckers’ Goodwill

Tuesday, June 11, 2019
Not Much Fizz in LaCroix Right Now

Wednesday, May 29, 2019
An Example of Calcbench, Excel, and Insight

Monday, May 20, 2019
Research Paper: Capex Spending

Thursday, May 16, 2019
Psst: Got Any Weed?

Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Open Letter: SEC Proposed Rule for BDCs

Friday, May 10, 2019
General Motors and Workhorse

Archive  |  Search:

Another bundle of data and insight from the crack Calcbench research team is now available: our latest survey of share repurchase programs.

This report, which you can download on the Calcbench Research page, covers 25 quarters from 2012 through the first quarter of 2018 and analyzes more than 22,000 “firm quarter observations” — that is, every instance of a company repurchasing shares. For example, Apple repurchased shares in 19 of those 25 quarters, so it appears in the dataset 19 times.

We found 1,481 observations of firms spending more than $500 million in a quarter on repurchases, and 701 observations larger than $1 billion. We call those observations “mega-buybacks.” Mega-buybacks accounted for only 3.2 percent of all observations we recorded, but 48.7 percent of all dollars spent on repurchases.

As you may have seen in other news reports already, Corporate America went a bit nuts with share repurchase programs in first quarter 2018 thanks to last year’s tax reform— an all-time high in dollars spent on repurchases, and almost a record in number of companies engaging in repurchase programs. This chart below shows the spike.

Our report also breaks down the number of buybacks sorted by dollar value; lists the biggest repurchasers of stock over the last 25 quarters; calculates dollars spent by the top 10 repurchasers in a quarter, as a percentage of all companies that quarter; calculates repurchase yields; compares repurchase spending to dividends spending; and much more.

We update our repurchase report every quarter, so look for fresh numbers with Q2 2018 included sometime after Labor Day.


FREE Calcbench Premium
Two Week Trial

Research Financial & Accounting Data Like Never Before. More features and try our Excel add-in. Sign up now to try the Premium Suite.