RECENT POSTS
Saturday, April 13, 2019
When AWS Takes Over the World

Thursday, April 11, 2019
Data Trends in Focus: Restructuring Costs

Sunday, April 7, 2019
How One Customer Crushed It With Calcbench

Thursday, April 4, 2019
TJX Shows Complexity of Leasing Costs Reporting

Tuesday, April 2, 2019
CEO Pay Ratios: Some 2018 Thoughts

Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Corporate Spending: Where It Goes, 2017 vs. 2018

Monday, March 25, 2019
Health Insurers: A Bit Winded?

Friday, March 22, 2019
Our New Master Class Video

Thursday, March 21, 2019
Tech Data’s Goodwill Adjustment

Tuesday, March 19, 2019
There’s Taxes, and There’s Taxes

Saturday, March 16, 2019
Adventures in Tax Cuts and Net Income

Monday, March 11, 2019
Big Moves in Goodwill, Intangible Value

Friday, March 8, 2019
CVS, Goodwill, and Enterprise Value

Thursday, February 28, 2019
Summary of Our Goodwill Research/ How-To

Wednesday, February 27, 2019
What Does ‘Other’ Mean? An Example

Thursday, February 21, 2019
Another Tale, Buried in the Footnotes

Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Low Latency Calcbench

Monday, February 11, 2019
Now Streaming on Hulu: Red Ink

Thursday, February 7, 2019
Early Look at 2018 Tax Decline

Wednesday, February 6, 2019
You Revised WHAT, Netflix?

Archive  |  Search:
The First-Ever Calcbench Webinar
Wednesday, September 12, 2018

Great news for Calcbench enthusiasts young and old! We have released our first-ever webinar, where one of the leading thinkers on financial analysis talks about the big challenges he sees for the profession today and how data analytics can help answer them.

The webinar, 48 minutes long, features a discussion with Marc Siegel, a 10-year veteran of the Financial Accounting Standards Board (and a 25-year veteran of financial analysis) who left FASB earlier this summer. Siegel graciously agreed to talk with us about astute ways to wrangle good insight out of financial statements, new accounting standards affecting financial analysis, and more.

You can find the webinar on our website, and on YouTube as well. Free to all, just pull up a computer screen and have a listen.

Siegel takes up the first half of the webinar. Then we talk with our own CEO here, Pranav Ghai, who gives some specific examples of how you can use Calcbench to analyze the issues Siegel raises. Which is also good stuff to watch, and we’re not saying that just because Ghai is the one who signs the paychecks around here.

Some of the specific topics the webinar covers:

  • Rollforwards, and how to interpret the information reported in them;
  • Critical accounting policies and how you can find ones that have changed;
  • New accounting standards for revenue recognition and operating leases, and the implications they have for financial analysis;
  • Where to find all those details specifically in the Calcbench database world.

We’re eager to hear what you think of the webinar, or your ideas for future webinars (subjects we should explore, experts we should interview). Always feel free to drop us a line at us@calcbench.com.


FREE Calcbench Premium
Two Week Trial

Research Financial & Accounting Data Like Never Before. More features and try our Excel add-in. Sign up now to try the Premium Suite.