RECENT POSTS
Tuesday, June 11, 2019
Not Much Fizz in LaCroix Right Now

Wednesday, May 29, 2019
An Example of Calcbench, Excel, and Insight

Monday, May 20, 2019
Research Paper: Capex Spending

Thursday, May 16, 2019
Psst: Got Any Weed?

Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Open Letter: SEC Proposed Rule for BDCs

Friday, May 10, 2019
General Motors and Workhorse

Monday, May 6, 2019
How to Find Earnings Release Data

Tuesday, April 23, 2019
Following Restructuring Costs Over Time

Monday, April 22, 2019
Capex Spending: More Than You Might Think

Saturday, April 13, 2019
When AWS Takes Over the World

Thursday, April 11, 2019
Data Trends in Focus: Restructuring Costs

Sunday, April 7, 2019
How One Customer Crushed It With Calcbench

Thursday, April 4, 2019
TJX Shows Complexity of Leasing Costs Reporting

Tuesday, April 2, 2019
CEO Pay Ratios: Some 2018 Thoughts

Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Corporate Spending: Where It Goes, 2017 vs. 2018

Monday, March 25, 2019
Health Insurers: A Bit Winded?

Friday, March 22, 2019
Our New Master Class Video

Thursday, March 21, 2019
Tech Data’s Goodwill Adjustment

Tuesday, March 19, 2019
There’s Taxes, and There’s Taxes

Saturday, March 16, 2019
Adventures in Tax Cuts and Net Income

Archive  |  Search:
Portfolio Income Statement
Monday, August 28, 2017

If your portfolio filed a 10-K what would the income statement look like? Using Calcbench standardized data we built a spreadsheet that computes a standardized income statement based on the holdings of your portfolio. For comparison we also compute the standardized income statement for the S&P500 tracker, SPY, showing what your income statement will look like if you throw in the towel and go passive.

As an example let’s compare a $10K portfolio invested equally in the FANGs (Facebook, Amazon, Netflix, and Google), $2,500 in each.

Our FANG portfolio’s standardized income statement is below-

MetricPortfolio Sum
Revenue$1,996
CostOfRevenue$1,093
GrossProfit$903
SGAExpense$264
OperatingExpenses$651
OperatingIncome$252
EBIT$257
InterestExpense$11
IncomeTaxes$53
NetIncome$193

Our ten thousand dollars invested in the FANGs buys us ~$2,000 of revenues and ~$200 of earnings.

Alternatively ten thousand dollars invested in the S&P500 index fund has an income statement that looks like the below. The S&P 500 is a market cap weighted index and we use the same weighting. Each of the line items in the aggregate income statement is the sum of the filer’s reported value times their weight in the index times the percentage of the company owned by the fund times the percentage of the fund represented by of $10k.

MetricIndex Sum
Revenue$4,658
CostOfRevenue$2,699
GrossProfit$1,959
SGAExpense$779
OperatingExpenses$1,361
OperatingIncome$567
EBIT$420
InterestExpense$102
IncomeTaxes$143
NetIncome$407

$10K in the S&P500 buys you ~$4,600 in revenue and ~$400 of earnings. Note that buying the index gets you about two times the revenue and earnings of the FANG portfolio.

In addition to face financials Calcbench has an unrivaled set of standardized metrics from the footnotes to the financials. We did the same analysis that we did with the income statement line-items a couple of points from the 10-K footnotes.

MetricFANG SumIndex Sum
UnremittedForeignEarnings$331$1,051
BusinessCombinationPurchasePrice$3$313
CapitalLeaseObligations$67$16
The spreadsheet used in this blog is @ Calcbench Portfolio Income Statement.xlsx To plug in your portfolio sign-up for Calcbench trial @ www.calcbench.com/join and download the Calcbench Excel Add-in

FREE Calcbench Premium
Two Week Trial

Research Financial & Accounting Data Like Never Before. More features and try our Excel add-in. Sign up now to try the Premium Suite.