RECENT POSTS
Saturday, April 13, 2019
When AWS Takes Over the World

Thursday, April 11, 2019
Data Trends in Focus: Restructuring Costs

Sunday, April 7, 2019
How One Customer Crushed It With Calcbench

Thursday, April 4, 2019
TJX Shows Complexity of Leasing Costs Reporting

Tuesday, April 2, 2019
CEO Pay Ratios: Some 2018 Thoughts

Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Corporate Spending: Where It Goes, 2017 vs. 2018

Monday, March 25, 2019
Health Insurers: A Bit Winded?

Friday, March 22, 2019
Our New Master Class Video

Thursday, March 21, 2019
Tech Data’s Goodwill Adjustment

Tuesday, March 19, 2019
There’s Taxes, and There’s Taxes

Saturday, March 16, 2019
Adventures in Tax Cuts and Net Income

Monday, March 11, 2019
Big Moves in Goodwill, Intangible Value

Friday, March 8, 2019
CVS, Goodwill, and Enterprise Value

Thursday, February 28, 2019
Summary of Our Goodwill Research/ How-To

Wednesday, February 27, 2019
What Does ‘Other’ Mean? An Example

Thursday, February 21, 2019
Another Tale, Buried in the Footnotes

Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Low Latency Calcbench

Monday, February 11, 2019
Now Streaming on Hulu: Red Ink

Thursday, February 7, 2019
Early Look at 2018 Tax Decline

Wednesday, February 6, 2019
You Revised WHAT, Netflix?

Archive  |  Search:
Who is affected by Turkey?
Tuesday, August 14, 2018

With the news about the drop in the Turkish lira lately, we were interested in which companies may be affected by a potential economic downturn in Turkey. We looked at companies’ disclosed geographical segments for specific disclosures about Turkey. The Table below shows revenue reported in 2017 to come from Turkey and the percentage it represents out of total revenue.

Looking at the table, we can see some companies that stand out, like ArcelorMittal (MT), a steel and mining company which reported almost $2 billion of Turkish revenue. Although less than 3 percent of total revenue, it is a significant amount. A 30 percent decrease in that revenue stream could translate to about 20 percent of the company’s net income.

The vast majority of Eldorado Gold Corp.’s (EGO) revenue and all of Transatlantic Petroleum’s (TAT) revenue is reported to originate in Turkey. If you are interested in knowing more about Transatlantic Petroleum’s (TAT) business structure, you can check out its business description on Calcbench’s disclosures page.

Another interesting question is the assets held in Turkey. Eldorado Gold (EGO) reported $835,422,000 worth of assets in Turkey, more than 16 percent of total assets. Westwater Resources (WWR) reported $17,979,000 of assets in Turkey, which represents more than one-third of its total assets.

All this information was obtained from Calcbench’s breakout query.

Want more?

Calcbench Professional users, who really want to geek out with the data, can go to Calcbench’s Raw XBRL Query and search for XBRL dimension members that include “Turkey”, yielding companies that report information relating to business in Turkey. This would include companies like Banco Bilbao Vizcaya Argentaria S.A. (BBVA), Chemical & Mining Co. of Chile Inc. (SQM), Hormel Foods (HRL), Unilever (UN), Vodafone Group (VOD) and many others.


FREE Calcbench Premium
Two Week Trial

Research Financial & Accounting Data Like Never Before. More features and try our Excel add-in. Sign up now to try the Premium Suite.