RECENT POSTS
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
WeWork Liabilities, Part II

Tuesday, August 20, 2019
WeWork’s Liabilities in Perspective

Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Comparing LinkedIn, Twitter Revenue

Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Leasing’s Effect on Retail Balance Sheets

Thursday, August 1, 2019
Using Calcbench to Find China Exposure

Tuesday, July 30, 2019
Leasing Details: The Comcast Example

Monday, July 29, 2019
Easy Fundamental Equity Analysis in Python

Monday, July 22, 2019
Calcbench Data and Tax Reform Insight

Wednesday, July 17, 2019
Downshifting in the Trucking World

Tuesday, July 16, 2019
New Report: Adoption of New Lease Accounting Standard

Friday, July 5, 2019
More Consequences of Lease Accounting

Monday, July 1, 2019
Another Example of Tax Reform Twisting Bottom Line

Thursday, June 27, 2019
The Latest Share Repurchase Data

Tuesday, June 18, 2019
Popping the Lid on Smuckers’ Goodwill

Tuesday, June 11, 2019
Not Much Fizz in LaCroix Right Now

Wednesday, May 29, 2019
An Example of Calcbench, Excel, and Insight

Monday, May 20, 2019
Research Paper: Capex Spending

Thursday, May 16, 2019
Psst: Got Any Weed?

Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Open Letter: SEC Proposed Rule for BDCs

Friday, May 10, 2019
General Motors and Workhorse

Archive  |  Search:
Who is affected by Turkey?
Tuesday, August 14, 2018

With the news about the drop in the Turkish lira lately, we were interested in which companies may be affected by a potential economic downturn in Turkey. We looked at companies’ disclosed geographical segments for specific disclosures about Turkey. The Table below shows revenue reported in 2017 to come from Turkey and the percentage it represents out of total revenue.

Looking at the table, we can see some companies that stand out, like ArcelorMittal (MT), a steel and mining company which reported almost $2 billion of Turkish revenue. Although less than 3 percent of total revenue, it is a significant amount. A 30 percent decrease in that revenue stream could translate to about 20 percent of the company’s net income.

The vast majority of Eldorado Gold Corp.’s (EGO) revenue and all of Transatlantic Petroleum’s (TAT) revenue is reported to originate in Turkey. If you are interested in knowing more about Transatlantic Petroleum’s (TAT) business structure, you can check out its business description on Calcbench’s disclosures page.

Another interesting question is the assets held in Turkey. Eldorado Gold (EGO) reported $835,422,000 worth of assets in Turkey, more than 16 percent of total assets. Westwater Resources (WWR) reported $17,979,000 of assets in Turkey, which represents more than one-third of its total assets.

All this information was obtained from Calcbench’s breakout query.

Want more?

Calcbench Professional users, who really want to geek out with the data, can go to Calcbench’s Raw XBRL Query and search for XBRL dimension members that include “Turkey”, yielding companies that report information relating to business in Turkey. This would include companies like Banco Bilbao Vizcaya Argentaria S.A. (BBVA), Chemical & Mining Co. of Chile Inc. (SQM), Hormel Foods (HRL), Unilever (UN), Vodafone Group (VOD) and many others.


FREE Calcbench Premium
Two Week Trial

Research Financial & Accounting Data Like Never Before. More features and try our Excel add-in. Sign up now to try the Premium Suite.