RECENT POSTS
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
A Look at Climate Change Disclosures

Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Quants: Point-in-Time Data for Backtesting

Friday, December 28, 2018
Now Showing: Controls & Procedures

Thursday, December 27, 2018
A Reminder on Non-GAAP Reporting Rules

Monday, December 17, 2018
Researching PG&E’s Wildfire Risk

Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Tracking Brexit Disclosures

Thursday, December 6, 2018
Campbell Soup: Looking Behind the Label

Sunday, December 2, 2018
SEC Comment Letters: The Amazon Example

Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Measuring Big Pharma’s Chemical Dependency

Monday, November 26, 2018
Analysts, Can You Relate? A True Story

Monday, November 19, 2018
Digging Up Historical Trend Data: Quest Example

Sunday, November 11, 2018
Cost of Revenue, SG&A: Q3 Update

Monday, November 5, 2018
Lease Accounting: FedEx vs. UPS

Saturday, November 3, 2018
New Email Alerting Powers

Wednesday, October 31, 2018
PTC and Two Tales of Revenue

Tuesday, October 30, 2018
10-K/Q Section Text Change Detection

Sunday, October 28, 2018
Finding Purchase Price Allocation

Sunday, October 21, 2018
Charting Netflix Growth in Three Ways

Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Interesting Data on Interest Income

Thursday, October 11, 2018
The Decline of Sears in Three Charts

Archive  |  Search:

Dollar General Corp. filed its latest quarterly report this week — and if you’re looking for a great example of how tax reform distorts perceptions about corporate earnings, this is it.

First, the important numbers. Dollar General reported first-quarter 2018 revenue of $6.1 billion, pretax income of $465 million, tax expense of $100.5 million, and net operating income of $364.8 million. Here is how it all looks in chart form, compared to first quarter of 2017.

Looks good at first glance, right?

Do a bit of math, however, and the picture becomes less rosy.

First, Dollar General’s effective tax rate (tax expense divided into income before taxes) dropped sharply: from 37.2 percent in 2017, to 21.6 percent this year. That’s no big surprise. Tax reform cut statutory corporate tax rates from 35 to 21 percent, and that’s almost the exact same cut we see for Dollar General.

But that means most of Dollar General’s growth in net income comes from that tax cut — not from growth in revenue and prudent cost management.

For example, if we taxed that $465.4 million in pre-tax income for 2018 at the same 37.2 effective rate from one year prior, Dollar General’s tax expense would have been $173.1 million, rather than the $100.5 million it actually paid. And therefore, net income would have been only $292.3 million rather than the $364.8 million above.

Now, that would still be growth in net income compared to the year-ago period. But growth would be only 4.5 percent, rather than the 30.5 percent we see here.

A few other numbers to consider: revenue grew 9 percent from Q1 2017 to Q1 2018 — but cost of goods sold kept pace with that, rising 8.7 percent; and Sales, General & Administrative rose 12 percent. (Hello, labor shortage and rising wages.) So growth in operating profit only rose 3.4 percent.

In other words, almost all Dollar General’s growth in profits for first quarter 2018 came from a tax cut, rather than from organic revenue growth and attention to cost management.

Is that the end of the world? No. But it’s like running a four-minute mile because you took a big shot of adrenaline just before the race, rather than through disciplined workouts and training.

Sooner or later, that adrenaline runs out. Financial analysts may want to ask CFOs on the next earnings call what the plan is after that happens.


FREE Calcbench Premium
Two Week Trial

Research Financial & Accounting Data Like Never Before. More features and try our Excel add-in. Sign up now to try the Premium Suite.