RECENT POSTS
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
WeWork Liabilities, Part II

Tuesday, August 20, 2019
WeWork’s Liabilities in Perspective

Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Comparing LinkedIn, Twitter Revenue

Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Leasing’s Effect on Retail Balance Sheets

Thursday, August 1, 2019
Using Calcbench to Find China Exposure

Tuesday, July 30, 2019
Leasing Details: The Comcast Example

Monday, July 29, 2019
Easy Fundamental Equity Analysis in Python

Monday, July 22, 2019
Calcbench Data and Tax Reform Insight

Wednesday, July 17, 2019
Downshifting in the Trucking World

Tuesday, July 16, 2019
New Report: Adoption of New Lease Accounting Standard

Friday, July 5, 2019
More Consequences of Lease Accounting

Monday, July 1, 2019
Another Example of Tax Reform Twisting Bottom Line

Thursday, June 27, 2019
The Latest Share Repurchase Data

Tuesday, June 18, 2019
Popping the Lid on Smuckers’ Goodwill

Tuesday, June 11, 2019
Not Much Fizz in LaCroix Right Now

Wednesday, May 29, 2019
An Example of Calcbench, Excel, and Insight

Monday, May 20, 2019
Research Paper: Capex Spending

Thursday, May 16, 2019
Psst: Got Any Weed?

Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Open Letter: SEC Proposed Rule for BDCs

Friday, May 10, 2019
General Motors and Workhorse

Archive  |  Search:
ASC 606: So You’re Freaking Out…
Monday, October 9, 2017

You saw it, right? The audit practice alert published last week from the Public Company Accounting Oversight Board? The one guiding audit firms on how they should audit your firm’s implementation of the new revenue recognition standard?

The standard going into force in two months!

Yep, it’s real now. You can’t stall implementation and disclosure any longer.

Thankfully, Calcbench has your back. We have been following companies’ implementation of the new standard for more than a year, and we have several ways you can use our databases to see how other firms are adopting the standard, to judge your own progress.

Above all, we created a new disclosure type: “Revenue From Contracts With Customers,” to help you see what other firms have been disclosing so far. Here’s how you use it.

First, start with the Interactive Disclosure Database. Use the “Choose Companies” function in the upper left corner to create the population of companies you want to study. For our purposes today we’ll use the “Whole Universe” function. You can also read our previous post about how to create peer groups of your own.

You also need to set a disclosure period to search, using the fields on the upper right portion of your screen. In theory, you could search any period (quarterly or annual), but companies didn’t start adopting the new revenue standard until earlier this year. Our recommendation would be to start searching from Q1 2017.

Next, in the “Choose Footnote/Disclosure Type” menu, select “Revenue from Contracts With Customers.” It’s near the bottom of the many disclosure choices Calcbench offers, but it’s there. Also, under the “Full Text Search” box on the right-hand side, check that box that says, “Restrict to specified disclosure type.” (See Figure 1, below, for help.)

Then press “Go” and you get your results. You get a list of companies that are already reporting something under the new revenue standard.

You want to narrow the field even further? Easy. Just enter whatever text string you have into the Full Text Search box. For example, all companies must disclose which of two possible adoption methods they plan to use to implement ASC 606: the “modified” or “full” retrospective approaches. So you could enter “full retrospective” or “modified retrospective” into the text search box, to see which firms used the approach you’re studying.

And don’t forget to read our several reports on companies adopting the new standard: our look at companies in the software sector, and many posts archived on our blog. We’ll have more in the future, too!


FREE Calcbench Premium
Two Week Trial

Research Financial & Accounting Data Like Never Before. More features and try our Excel add-in. Sign up now to try the Premium Suite.