RECENT POSTS
Tuesday, June 18, 2019
Popping the Lid on Smuckers’ Goodwill

Tuesday, June 11, 2019
Not Much Fizz in LaCroix Right Now

Wednesday, May 29, 2019
An Example of Calcbench, Excel, and Insight

Monday, May 20, 2019
Research Paper: Capex Spending

Thursday, May 16, 2019
Psst: Got Any Weed?

Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Open Letter: SEC Proposed Rule for BDCs

Friday, May 10, 2019
General Motors and Workhorse

Monday, May 6, 2019
How to Find Earnings Release Data

Tuesday, April 23, 2019
Following Restructuring Costs Over Time

Monday, April 22, 2019
Capex Spending: More Than You Might Think

Saturday, April 13, 2019
When AWS Takes Over the World

Thursday, April 11, 2019
Data Trends in Focus: Restructuring Costs

Sunday, April 7, 2019
How One Customer Crushed It With Calcbench

Thursday, April 4, 2019
TJX Shows Complexity of Leasing Costs Reporting

Tuesday, April 2, 2019
CEO Pay Ratios: Some 2018 Thoughts

Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Corporate Spending: Where It Goes, 2017 vs. 2018

Monday, March 25, 2019
Health Insurers: A Bit Winded?

Friday, March 22, 2019
Our New Master Class Video

Thursday, March 21, 2019
Tech Data’s Goodwill Adjustment

Tuesday, March 19, 2019
There’s Taxes, and There’s Taxes

Archive  |  Search:

When the SEC has questions or problems with a company’s filing, it sends a ‘comment’ letter (often times including insightful information), to which the company must then respond. At least 20 days after this review is concluded, the correspondence becomes public. The letters are posted to EDGAR, using document types “UPLOAD” for the letters, and “CORRESP” for the responses.

These letters, however, are a bit hard to find and difficult to follow along in sequence.

Problem solved! You can now read these full correspondence chains using our interactive disclosure tool.

1) Pick a company.

2) Hit the ‘All History’ button near the top right of your screen.

3) Scroll to “SEC Comment Letters & Responses”

Now you can read along each chain in order.

Why should you care?

For investors this can be critical information. Here’s a recent example, involving Yahoo’s search agreement with Mozilla. That agreement was excluded from company filings, but turned out to be important during the company’s sale.

More here from last week’s New York Times:

“Yahoo decided the contract’s provisions were not significant enough to disclose to shareholders, despite a series of letters last year from the Securities and Exchange Commission asking the company to lay out the terms of the agreement and the risks to Yahoo. A spokeswoman for the agency declined to comment on the dispute.”

In other words, if you hadn’t read the letters, you wouldn’t have known….


FREE Calcbench Premium
Two Week Trial

Research Financial & Accounting Data Like Never Before. More features and try our Excel add-in. Sign up now to try the Premium Suite.