RECENT POSTS
Tuesday, June 11, 2019
Not Much Fizz in LaCroix Right Now

Wednesday, May 29, 2019
An Example of Calcbench, Excel, and Insight

Monday, May 20, 2019
Research Paper: Capex Spending

Thursday, May 16, 2019
Psst: Got Any Weed?

Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Open Letter: SEC Proposed Rule for BDCs

Friday, May 10, 2019
General Motors and Workhorse

Monday, May 6, 2019
How to Find Earnings Release Data

Tuesday, April 23, 2019
Following Restructuring Costs Over Time

Monday, April 22, 2019
Capex Spending: More Than You Might Think

Saturday, April 13, 2019
When AWS Takes Over the World

Thursday, April 11, 2019
Data Trends in Focus: Restructuring Costs

Sunday, April 7, 2019
How One Customer Crushed It With Calcbench

Thursday, April 4, 2019
TJX Shows Complexity of Leasing Costs Reporting

Tuesday, April 2, 2019
CEO Pay Ratios: Some 2018 Thoughts

Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Corporate Spending: Where It Goes, 2017 vs. 2018

Monday, March 25, 2019
Health Insurers: A Bit Winded?

Friday, March 22, 2019
Our New Master Class Video

Thursday, March 21, 2019
Tech Data’s Goodwill Adjustment

Tuesday, March 19, 2019
There’s Taxes, and There’s Taxes

Saturday, March 16, 2019
Adventures in Tax Cuts and Net Income

Archive  |  Search:

…And the winner is: Lennar Corp with a filing by Workiva. 

So far two major takeaways:

1) The XBRL instance document is a bit hard to find:

When a company files an iXBRL filing, it does not come with a traditional XBRL instance document…all the info is instead embedded in the main HTML document. 

So instead of this:

 You see this:

HOWEVER an instance document is auto-generated by the SEC upon acceptance using the information provided by the inline HTML document, and placed on the FTP server.

Also, I assume some of the file placements are subject to chance since we are all new at this.

2) In the auto-generated instance document, text blocks do NOT contain inline tags:

In other words, in the company filed iXBRL document, a disclosure might look like this:

But in the corresponding text block, it looks like this:

Initial conversations suggest this was done on purpose, but we see it as a big missed opportunity to extend the usefulness of inline XBRL.Anyone just looking at the text blocks will not have access to the tagging info, which is the whole power of iXBRL.


FREE Calcbench Premium
Two Week Trial

Research Financial & Accounting Data Like Never Before. More features and try our Excel add-in. Sign up now to try the Premium Suite.