RECENT POSTS
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
WeWork Liabilities, Part II

Tuesday, August 20, 2019
WeWork’s Liabilities in Perspective

Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Comparing LinkedIn, Twitter Revenue

Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Leasing’s Effect on Retail Balance Sheets

Thursday, August 1, 2019
Using Calcbench to Find China Exposure

Tuesday, July 30, 2019
Leasing Details: The Comcast Example

Monday, July 29, 2019
Easy Fundamental Equity Analysis in Python

Monday, July 22, 2019
Calcbench Data and Tax Reform Insight

Wednesday, July 17, 2019
Downshifting in the Trucking World

Tuesday, July 16, 2019
New Report: Adoption of New Lease Accounting Standard

Friday, July 5, 2019
More Consequences of Lease Accounting

Monday, July 1, 2019
Another Example of Tax Reform Twisting Bottom Line

Thursday, June 27, 2019
The Latest Share Repurchase Data

Tuesday, June 18, 2019
Popping the Lid on Smuckers’ Goodwill

Tuesday, June 11, 2019
Not Much Fizz in LaCroix Right Now

Wednesday, May 29, 2019
An Example of Calcbench, Excel, and Insight

Monday, May 20, 2019
Research Paper: Capex Spending

Thursday, May 16, 2019
Psst: Got Any Weed?

Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Open Letter: SEC Proposed Rule for BDCs

Friday, May 10, 2019
General Motors and Workhorse

Archive  |  Search:
Calcbench User Guides and Tools
Tuesday, February 17, 2015

Calcbench has begun to create a set of user guides and tools to help our clients get higher utility out of the data sets that are available through our engines.  Last week, we introduced our Guide to Analyzing Income Taxes.  This week we are looking at leases.  Using Dr. Aswath Domodaran’s lease templates as a starting point, Calcbench was able to generate the list of highest leasors and what the implications would be to their balance sheets if operating leases were brought back onto the liabilities side.  Of course, there would have to be an asset side adjustment to Property, Plant and Equipment as well and the implications are complex (to say the least).    

Calcbench isn’t taking a public position on whether leases should be put back onto balance sheets, but we are allowing our customers the opportunity to systematically do this work for themselves using our tools.  

Find what you need at  https://www.calcbench.com/home/guides  

Here is the view of  the leasing template

image


Report:  Top 20 firms by leasing dollars reported so far for 2014.

The column labeled “Const Sh.Equity” refers the amount of Assets that would have to be added to PP&E in order to keep shareholders equity constant.

(Note : Boeing does not report leases after 5 years)

image

FREE Calcbench Premium
Two Week Trial

Research Financial & Accounting Data Like Never Before. More features and try our Excel add-in. Sign up now to try the Premium Suite.