RECENT POSTS
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
A Look at Climate Change Disclosures

Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Quants: Point-in-Time Data for Backtesting

Friday, December 28, 2018
Now Showing: Controls & Procedures

Thursday, December 27, 2018
A Reminder on Non-GAAP Reporting Rules

Monday, December 17, 2018
Researching PG&E’s Wildfire Risk

Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Tracking Brexit Disclosures

Thursday, December 6, 2018
Campbell Soup: Looking Behind the Label

Sunday, December 2, 2018
SEC Comment Letters: The Amazon Example

Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Measuring Big Pharma’s Chemical Dependency

Monday, November 26, 2018
Analysts, Can You Relate? A True Story

Monday, November 19, 2018
Digging Up Historical Trend Data: Quest Example

Sunday, November 11, 2018
Cost of Revenue, SG&A: Q3 Update

Monday, November 5, 2018
Lease Accounting: FedEx vs. UPS

Saturday, November 3, 2018
New Email Alerting Powers

Wednesday, October 31, 2018
PTC and Two Tales of Revenue

Tuesday, October 30, 2018
10-K/Q Section Text Change Detection

Sunday, October 28, 2018
Finding Purchase Price Allocation

Sunday, October 21, 2018
Charting Netflix Growth in Three Ways

Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Interesting Data on Interest Income

Thursday, October 11, 2018
The Decline of Sears in Three Charts

Archive  |  Search:

We were curious to see whether or not there would be an increase in inventory among retail stores over the past three years. We chose to look at two sectors General Merchandise (SIC 5300) and Apparel and Accessory Stores (SIC 5600). These sectors include companies like Walmart, Target, GAP, and American Eagle. In both sectors, inventory grew fairly steadily since 2011. We chose to use the sector averages for the inventory accounts in each year since the vast majority of companies followed the same trend.

 image

There are a few possible explanations for the growth in inventory. One explanation could be that “brick and mortar” stores recognize that their competitive edge is that their customers do not have to wait to buy products from their stores. The added convenience of purchasing and returning goods is enough to justify whatever price difference may exist in a price sensitive industry between them and online stores. The “brick and mortar” stores’ competitive edge is lost if they do not retain enough inventory in their stores and warehouses to keep the shelves and racks stocked with any item the consumer may desire. This is merely a possible explanation as there could be many other causes influencing this observed trend.

To see for yourself in more detail, head to the Benchmark tool, look at SIC Codes 5300 and 5600, and select Inventory as a data point.


FREE Calcbench Premium
Two Week Trial

Research Financial & Accounting Data Like Never Before. More features and try our Excel add-in. Sign up now to try the Premium Suite.