RECENT POSTS
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
U.S. firms with Sales in China through 2018.

Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Tracking  Pension Data in Calcbench

Friday, October 4, 2019
In Depth: Leasing Costs in Retail Sector

Thursday, September 19, 2019
Alibaba and Cloud Computing

Monday, September 16, 2019
Introducing Critical Audit Matters

Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Our Fireside Chat on Goodwill Assets

Friday, September 6, 2019
Pulling Forward Share Buybacks

Saturday, August 31, 2019
A Quick Catch-Up on VMWare

Friday, August 23, 2019
By the Numbers: Restructuring Costs Over Time

Wednesday, August 21, 2019
WeWork Liabilities, Part II

Tuesday, August 20, 2019
WeWork’s Liabilities in Perspective

Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Comparing LinkedIn, Twitter Revenue

Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Leasing’s Effect on Retail Balance Sheets

Thursday, August 1, 2019
Using Calcbench to Find China Exposure

Tuesday, July 30, 2019
Leasing Details: The Comcast Example

Monday, July 29, 2019
Easy Fundamental Equity Analysis in Python

Monday, July 22, 2019
Calcbench Data and Tax Reform Insight

Wednesday, July 17, 2019
Downshifting in the Trucking World

Tuesday, July 16, 2019
New Report: Adoption of New Lease Accounting Standard

Friday, July 5, 2019
More Consequences of Lease Accounting

Archive  |  Search:

At Calcbench, over the past two years, we’ve flagged and corrected, automatically and by hand, hundreds of thousands of errors or inconstancies in XBRL filings…it’s what we do to ensure we have the highest quality database possible for our users. 

However, recently we’ve been more active in sharing this information back with the people creating the filings. Last fall we launched our Filer Portal, a complimentary service that XBRL filers can use to check the quality of their filings from our perspective, as well as study their revisions histories, and see how their information looks to an outsider. Unlike other consistency checks, our Filer Portal is the only tool we are aware of that examines all of the information for that company in aggregate in order to find problems such as errors of scales, sign switches, and date errors. Over the next year we’ll keep adding to the Filer Portal to give filers the best info we can about their quality.

But we didn’t stop there. Since the beginning of 2014, Calcbench has been sending letters detailing problems we’ve detected back to the company. Below are some snapshots from two such letters. For our full report on the current state of XBRL data quality, click here.

image

image

image


FREE Calcbench Premium
Two Week Trial

Research Financial & Accounting Data Like Never Before. More features and try our Excel add-in. Sign up now to try the Premium Suite.