RECENT POSTS
Thursday, March 21, 2019
Tech Data’s Goodwill Adjustment

Tuesday, March 19, 2019
There’s Taxes, and There’s Taxes

Saturday, March 16, 2019
Adventures in Tax Cuts and Net Income

Monday, March 11, 2019
Big Moves in Goodwill, Intangible Value

Friday, March 8, 2019
CVS, Goodwill, and Enterprise Value

Thursday, February 28, 2019
Summary of Our Goodwill Research/ How-To

Wednesday, February 27, 2019
What Does ‘Other’ Mean? An Example

Thursday, February 21, 2019
Another Tale, Buried in the Footnotes

Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Low Latency Calcbench

Monday, February 11, 2019
Now Streaming on Hulu: Red Ink

Thursday, February 7, 2019
Early Look at 2018 Tax Decline

Wednesday, February 6, 2019
You Revised WHAT, Netflix?

Thursday, January 31, 2019
Talking About Huawei Exposure

Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Another Discrepancy in Reported Numbers

Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Finding Revised Facts: Hertz Edition

Wednesday, January 23, 2019
GE Commercial Aviation Services: Bringing Numbers to Light

Monday, January 21, 2019
Differences in Earnings Releases and 10-Ks

Wednesday, January 16, 2019
The Importance of Textual Analysis

Tuesday, January 8, 2019
A Look at Climate Change Disclosures

Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Quants: Point-in-Time Data for Backtesting

Archive  |  Search:

At Calcbench, over the past two years, we’ve flagged and corrected, automatically and by hand, hundreds of thousands of errors or inconstancies in XBRL filings…it’s what we do to ensure we have the highest quality database possible for our users. 

However, recently we’ve been more active in sharing this information back with the people creating the filings. Last fall we launched our Filer Portal, a complimentary service that XBRL filers can use to check the quality of their filings from our perspective, as well as study their revisions histories, and see how their information looks to an outsider. Unlike other consistency checks, our Filer Portal is the only tool we are aware of that examines all of the information for that company in aggregate in order to find problems such as errors of scales, sign switches, and date errors. Over the next year we’ll keep adding to the Filer Portal to give filers the best info we can about their quality.

But we didn’t stop there. Since the beginning of 2014, Calcbench has been sending letters detailing problems we’ve detected back to the company. Below are some snapshots from two such letters. For our full report on the current state of XBRL data quality, click here.

image

image

image


FREE Calcbench Premium
Two Week Trial

Research Financial & Accounting Data Like Never Before. More features and try our Excel add-in. Sign up now to try the Premium Suite.