RECENT POSTS
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
A Look at Climate Change Disclosures

Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Quants: Point-in-Time Data for Backtesting

Friday, December 28, 2018
Now Showing: Controls & Procedures

Thursday, December 27, 2018
A Reminder on Non-GAAP Reporting Rules

Monday, December 17, 2018
Researching PG&E’s Wildfire Risk

Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Tracking Brexit Disclosures

Thursday, December 6, 2018
Campbell Soup: Looking Behind the Label

Sunday, December 2, 2018
SEC Comment Letters: The Amazon Example

Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Measuring Big Pharma’s Chemical Dependency

Monday, November 26, 2018
Analysts, Can You Relate? A True Story

Monday, November 19, 2018
Digging Up Historical Trend Data: Quest Example

Sunday, November 11, 2018
Cost of Revenue, SG&A: Q3 Update

Monday, November 5, 2018
Lease Accounting: FedEx vs. UPS

Saturday, November 3, 2018
New Email Alerting Powers

Wednesday, October 31, 2018
PTC and Two Tales of Revenue

Tuesday, October 30, 2018
10-K/Q Section Text Change Detection

Sunday, October 28, 2018
Finding Purchase Price Allocation

Sunday, October 21, 2018
Charting Netflix Growth in Three Ways

Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Interesting Data on Interest Income

Thursday, October 11, 2018
The Decline of Sears in Three Charts

Archive  |  Search:

We appreciate Congressman Capuano’s leadership on this matter!

Dear Mr. Rapp, 

Thank you for contacting me expressing your opposition to H.R. 4164, the Small Company Disclosure Simplification Act.  

As you are aware, the Small Company Disclosure Simplification Act would exempt emerging growth companies and issuers with total annual gross revenues of less than $250 million from the requirements to use Extensible Business Reporting Language (XBRL) for financial statement and other mandatory reporting.  The bill would exempt approximately 60 percent of public companies.  Like you, I do not believe that exempting such a large segment of the market would benefit the companies or investors. On March 14, I voted against H.R. 4164 in the House Financial Services Committee Mark-up Session. Ultimately, the Committee passed H.R. 4164 by a vote of 51-5.  

I appreciate your comments on the increased number of investors who are now benefiting from XBRL. As with any process, there is room to improve and more can be done to make XBRL more user friendly and more accurate. I hope that this interactive financial reporting system will continue to improve and provide a better system for the public.

Thank you again for your comments. If my staff or I can be of further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact my office.

Sincerely,

Michael E. Capuano
Member of Congress


FREE Calcbench Premium
Two Week Trial

Research Financial & Accounting Data Like Never Before. More features and try our Excel add-in. Sign up now to try the Premium Suite.