RECENT POSTS
Sunday, January 19, 2020
Calcbench Tip: Email Alerts

Sunday, January 19, 2020
Calcbench Tip: Text Disclosures

Tuesday, January 14, 2020
Devising an Impairment Sensitivity Test

Thursday, January 9, 2020
Acuity Impairment on Leased Asset

Thursday, January 9, 2020
Calcbench Excel Add-in for Office 365 (The Excel Add-in on Mac)

Tuesday, January 7, 2020
Restructuring After Restructuring at Jabil

Friday, January 3, 2020
New Year, New Risks for Uber & Others

Friday, December 27, 2019
Looking Again at Legalized Weed

Sunday, December 22, 2019
An Update on Trucking Industry Slowness

Wednesday, December 18, 2019
Coming Up in 2020: CECL Disclosures

Wednesday, December 11, 2019
Finding and Assessing ‘Contribution Margin’

Monday, December 9, 2019
Cycling Through Peloton’s Financials

Monday, November 25, 2019
Calcbench and Academic Research

Friday, November 22, 2019
Disney’s Cliffhanger With Hulu

Tuesday, November 19, 2019
Starbucks on Leasing Costs

Friday, November 15, 2019
The Devil Is in the Discount Rate

Tuesday, November 12, 2019
A Look at Product Warranty Accruals

Thursday, November 7, 2019
CHS Limps Through Weather & War

Wednesday, November 6, 2019
Master Class: Preparing for Recession

Sunday, October 27, 2019
When Operating Leases Weigh Down ROA

Archive  |  Search:
WeWork Liabilities, Part II
Wednesday, August 21, 2019

Our previous post looked at WeWork’s operating lease liabilities in sheer dollar terms — and without quesiton, in sheer dollar terms those liabilities are enormous. WeWork has the largest operating lease liabilities of any filer out there, by far.

Then we tried to put those leasing liabilities into a more relative perspective. And if you look at them in the right light, WeWork isn’t the only company betting so much of its operations on operating leases.

What did we do? Simple.

Start with the present value of a company’s operating lease liabilities, which all firms are now required to report on the balance sheet. Divide that number into total liabilities, expressed as a percentage. That lets you see what portion of all liabilities stem from operating leases.

We did that for all firms with more than $1 billion in total liabilities, and then sorted them for the five with the highest percentages. The results are below, with WeWork appended at the bottom.



So WeWork isn’t the firm with its balance sheet most entangled in operating leases. Yes, in dollars WeWork dwarfs everyone else, but in relative terms we have at least a few firms even more wrapped up in operating lease liabilities than WeWork is.

We’ve written about Chipotle ($CMG) in previous posts, and Five Star Senior Living also features in our recent in-depth report about operating lease liabilities, too. Of course, one big difference among these five firms above and WeWork is that these firms actually make a profit from operations — something that has eluded WeWork so far, and when the company might need black ink to print its bottom line is anyone’s guess.


FREE Calcbench Premium
Two Week Trial

Research Financial & Accounting Data Like Never Before. More features and try our Excel add-in. Sign up now to try the Premium Suite.