RECENT POSTS
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Low Latency Calcbench

Monday, February 11, 2019
Now Streaming on Hulu: Red Ink

Thursday, February 7, 2019
Early Look at 2018 Tax Decline

Wednesday, February 6, 2019
You Revised WHAT, Netflix?

Thursday, January 31, 2019
Talking About Huawei Exposure

Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Another Discrepancy in Reported Numbers

Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Finding Revised Facts: Hertz Edition

Wednesday, January 23, 2019
GE Commercial Aviation Services: Bringing Numbers to Light

Monday, January 21, 2019
Differences in Earnings Releases and 10-Ks

Wednesday, January 16, 2019
The Importance of Textual Analysis

Tuesday, January 8, 2019
A Look at Climate Change Disclosures

Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Quants: Point-in-Time Data for Backtesting

Friday, December 28, 2018
Now Showing: Controls & Procedures

Thursday, December 27, 2018
A Reminder on Non-GAAP Reporting Rules

Monday, December 17, 2018
Researching PG&E’s Wildfire Risk

Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Tracking Brexit Disclosures

Thursday, December 6, 2018
Campbell Soup: Looking Behind the Label

Sunday, December 2, 2018
SEC Comment Letters: The Amazon Example

Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Measuring Big Pharma’s Chemical Dependency

Monday, November 26, 2018
Analysts, Can You Relate? A True Story

Archive  |  Search:
Leasing Costs and the Income Statement
Friday, August 17, 2018

As we now know, the new accounting standard for operating leases take effect at the end of this year, and its primary consequences are all about the balance sheet.

Money you owe in operating leases will soon appear there on the liability side, and will be offset by a corresponding “right of use” asset on the asset side. The balance sheet grows, but stockholder equity stays the same. That will change a few financial ratios here and there, but the balance sheet consequences overall are generally easy to understand.

So, um, what about the income statement?

The tricky thing is that any asset listed on your balance sheet (goodwill, financial instruments, inventory, and so forth) is subject to impairment. Operating lease assets will be no different.

We don’t know how often operating lease impairments will happen, but they will happen sometimes. And when they do — boom, negative earnings surprise!

We already see this occasionally among the few companies that already have operating leases on their balance sheet. Take a look at this filer, who shall remain nameless today.

Could these impairments even be used for earnings manipulation? Well, maybe.

Consider this scenario: A company is already having a bad quarter, and then includes a big ol’ lease impairment to boot. Sure, the loss looks bad in the moment, but lease assets amortize over a set schedule. If you impair the asset today, the future amortization per quarter will suddenly be lower, thus making future quarters look better.

Of course, there’s also the possibility of a lease-related gain as well. If you renegotiate a lease down, or first take an impairment and subsequently wiggle out of the contract anyway, you would recognize a “gain on modification of lease.”

So net income and EPS numbers might look better, but only because you’re fiddling with your lease costs rather than any improved performance from operations.

Then again, dickering with the value of assets to make the bottom line look good is a time-honored tradition in financial reporting. Maybe the operating lease standard isn’t such a new thing under the sun after all.


FREE Calcbench Premium
Two Week Trial

Research Financial & Accounting Data Like Never Before. More features and try our Excel add-in. Sign up now to try the Premium Suite.