RECENT POSTS
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
U.S. firms with Sales in China through 2018.

Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Tracking  Pension Data in Calcbench

Friday, October 4, 2019
In Depth: Leasing Costs in Retail Sector

Thursday, September 19, 2019
Alibaba and Cloud Computing

Monday, September 16, 2019
Introducing Critical Audit Matters

Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Our Fireside Chat on Goodwill Assets

Friday, September 6, 2019
Pulling Forward Share Buybacks

Saturday, August 31, 2019
A Quick Catch-Up on VMWare

Friday, August 23, 2019
By the Numbers: Restructuring Costs Over Time

Wednesday, August 21, 2019
WeWork Liabilities, Part II

Tuesday, August 20, 2019
WeWork’s Liabilities in Perspective

Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Comparing LinkedIn, Twitter Revenue

Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Leasing’s Effect on Retail Balance Sheets

Thursday, August 1, 2019
Using Calcbench to Find China Exposure

Tuesday, July 30, 2019
Leasing Details: The Comcast Example

Monday, July 29, 2019
Easy Fundamental Equity Analysis in Python

Monday, July 22, 2019
Calcbench Data and Tax Reform Insight

Wednesday, July 17, 2019
Downshifting in the Trucking World

Tuesday, July 16, 2019
New Report: Adoption of New Lease Accounting Standard

Friday, July 5, 2019
More Consequences of Lease Accounting

Archive  |  Search:
Latest Look at Leasing Liabilities
Thursday, August 2, 2018

Our latest Calcbench research on leasing expenses is now available — and as a crucial new accounting standard for leasing costs approaches, you may want to give the report a read to see how our findings square with your company’s particular situation.

We analyzed the leasing costs reported by more than 3,000 companies. In total, that group is carrying leasing costs with net present value of $860 billion, which are off the balance sheet. (Undiscounted leasing costs are $1.04 trillion.) The new standard for lease accounting, going into effect on Dec. 15, will force companies to report all those numbers on the balance for the first time.

At some companies, those lease liabilities are multiple times larger than all other liabilities listed on the balance sheet. So as the new standard goes into effect, it could cause radical changes to what liabilities a company reports. We identified 24 firms whose leasing costs will increase total liabilities by more than 200 percent; two firms — Five Star Senior Living and Potbelly Corp. — will see increases above 400 percent.

As you can see below, the bulk of those $819 billion in leasing liabilities are concentrated among the S&P 500; that’s not surprising. The $320 billion in liabilities for the other 3,000 firms we examined might not be a big issue, but the average liability is $105 million per firm. For some small firms, that’s a lot of money.

Our report, which you can download on the always crackling Calcbench Research page, includes a list of the 25 firms with the greatest implied liability increase in relative terms; the 10 largest in dollar terms; a breakdown of leasing costs by economic sector; and a quick example of how to find these disclosures yourself using the Calcbench Interactive Disclosure tool.

Remember, folks, that new standard goes into effect in four months. You can find all the data you want or need here at Calcbench.


FREE Calcbench Premium
Two Week Trial

Research Financial & Accounting Data Like Never Before. More features and try our Excel add-in. Sign up now to try the Premium Suite.