RECENT POSTS
Sunday, October 21, 2018
Charting Netflix Growth in Three Ways

Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Interesting Data on Interest Income

Thursday, October 11, 2018
The Decline of Sears in Three Charts

Wednesday, October 3, 2018
Buying Revenue At Any Cost...The (Not So) New Strategy For IPOs?

Sunday, September 30, 2018
Campbell Soup Gets Squeezed

Wednesday, September 26, 2018
Exchange Rate Effects on Cash

Monday, September 24, 2018
The Missing Unremitted Foreign Earnings

Tuesday, September 18, 2018
Thoughts on Structured Data

Sunday, September 16, 2018
Calcbench Goes to the Movies

Wednesday, September 12, 2018
The First-Ever Calcbench Webinar

Friday, August 31, 2018
Q&A: Ahmet Kurt and Researching Financial Data Quality

Friday, August 17, 2018
Leasing Costs and the Income Statement

Wednesday, August 15, 2018
Costs of Revenue, SG&A: Q2 Update

Tuesday, August 14, 2018
Who is affected by Turkey?

Wednesday, August 8, 2018
Lease Accounting and Return on Assets

Thursday, August 2, 2018
Latest Look at Leasing Liabilities

Thursday, July 26, 2018
Bargain Hunting in Calcbench

Wednesday, July 25, 2018
Chicken Soup for the Analyst’s Soul

Thursday, July 19, 2018
Calcbench Report: Share Repurchase Programs

Tuesday, July 17, 2018
Free Cash Flow, Big Filers and Small

Archive  |  Search:
Latest Look at Leasing Liabilities
Thursday, August 2, 2018

Our latest Calcbench research on leasing expenses is now available — and as a crucial new accounting standard for leasing costs approaches, you may want to give the report a read to see how our findings square with your company’s particular situation.

We analyzed the leasing costs reported by more than 3,000 companies. In total, that group is carrying leasing costs with net present value of $860 billion, which are off the balance sheet. (Undiscounted leasing costs are $1.04 trillion.) The new standard for lease accounting, going into effect on Dec. 15, will force companies to report all those numbers on the balance for the first time.

At some companies, those lease liabilities are multiple times larger than all other liabilities listed on the balance sheet. So as the new standard goes into effect, it could cause radical changes to what liabilities a company reports. We identified 24 firms whose leasing costs will increase total liabilities by more than 200 percent; two firms — Five Star Senior Living and Potbelly Corp. — will see increases above 400 percent.

As you can see below, the bulk of those $819 billion in leasing liabilities are concentrated among the S&P 500; that’s not surprising. The $320 billion in liabilities for the other 3,000 firms we examined might not be a big issue, but the average liability is $105 million per firm. For some small firms, that’s a lot of money.

Our report, which you can download on the always crackling Calcbench Research page, includes a list of the 25 firms with the greatest implied liability increase in relative terms; the 10 largest in dollar terms; a breakdown of leasing costs by economic sector; and a quick example of how to find these disclosures yourself using the Calcbench Interactive Disclosure tool.

Remember, folks, that new standard goes into effect in four months. You can find all the data you want or need here at Calcbench.


FREE Calcbench Premium
Two Week Trial

Research Financial & Accounting Data Like Never Before. More features and try our Excel add-in. Sign up now to try the Premium Suite.