RECENT POSTS
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
WeWork Liabilities, Part II

Tuesday, August 20, 2019
WeWork’s Liabilities in Perspective

Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Comparing LinkedIn, Twitter Revenue

Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Leasing’s Effect on Retail Balance Sheets

Thursday, August 1, 2019
Using Calcbench to Find China Exposure

Tuesday, July 30, 2019
Leasing Details: The Comcast Example

Monday, July 29, 2019
Easy Fundamental Equity Analysis in Python

Monday, July 22, 2019
Calcbench Data and Tax Reform Insight

Wednesday, July 17, 2019
Downshifting in the Trucking World

Tuesday, July 16, 2019
New Report: Adoption of New Lease Accounting Standard

Friday, July 5, 2019
More Consequences of Lease Accounting

Monday, July 1, 2019
Another Example of Tax Reform Twisting Bottom Line

Thursday, June 27, 2019
The Latest Share Repurchase Data

Tuesday, June 18, 2019
Popping the Lid on Smuckers’ Goodwill

Tuesday, June 11, 2019
Not Much Fizz in LaCroix Right Now

Wednesday, May 29, 2019
An Example of Calcbench, Excel, and Insight

Monday, May 20, 2019
Research Paper: Capex Spending

Thursday, May 16, 2019
Psst: Got Any Weed?

Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Open Letter: SEC Proposed Rule for BDCs

Friday, May 10, 2019
General Motors and Workhorse

Archive  |  Search:
Free Cash Flow, Big Filers and Small
Tuesday, July 17, 2018

From time to time Calcbench likes to do a quick analysis of financial data, to see what aggregate numbers among many companies might tell us about corporate performance. Today’s metric: free cash flow.

We last looked at free cash flow 12 months ago. “FCF” is a non-GAAP metric, generally defined as a company’s operating cash flow minus capital expenditures. That is, it’s the money that remains after the company pays to maintain its assets and operations.

Why is FCF useful? Because it indicates how much cash a company has for non-essential endeavors: investing more in R&D, making acquisitions, buying back shares, and so forth. So we wanted to see what the latest picture looks like, among the S&P 500 and among all public filers generally.

First is free cash flow among the S&P 500. We examined the average quarterly FCF per filer, from first quarter 2013 through first quarter 2018. As you can see in Figure 1 below, FCF fluctuates considerably from one quarter to the next — but the trend line, noted in red, clearly tilts downward.

What might that mean? Well, we know that cost of revenue has been rising lately, as has Sales, General & Administrative expense. It’s also worth noting that FCF in first quarter 2018 is up sharply ($502 million) relative to first quarter FCF in the prior three years, when it hovered below $350 million. That coincides with the first full quarter after last year’s corporate tax cut, which put a lot of cash into company coffers. Hmmm.

We could speculate that if FCF suddenly turns upward for the rest of 2018 — something we won’t know for many months yet — that might be tax reform at work. Once those quarterly statements arrive financial analysts might want to look more closely at specific companies to understand: is free cash flow rising because of smart cost management, or because of tax reform?

Everyone Else

We also have an FCF analysis for all public filers, in Figure 2 below. Here we can see the trend is decidedly upward, even if average FCF is much lower in absolute dollars (because we’re looking at smaller companies with smaller financial operations overall).

On the other hand, we also see that same phenomenon of first quarter 2018 FCF much higher than comparable first quarters in prior years. Tax reform? Something else? We don’t know. But as always — Calcbench does help you see the trends at large, so you can ask the right question for the specific companies that matter most to you.


FREE Calcbench Premium
Two Week Trial

Research Financial & Accounting Data Like Never Before. More features and try our Excel add-in. Sign up now to try the Premium Suite.