RECENT POSTS
Sunday, October 21, 2018
Charting Netflix Growth in Three Ways

Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Interesting Data on Interest Income

Thursday, October 11, 2018
The Decline of Sears in Three Charts

Wednesday, October 3, 2018
Buying Revenue At Any Cost...The (Not So) New Strategy For IPOs?

Sunday, September 30, 2018
Campbell Soup Gets Squeezed

Wednesday, September 26, 2018
Exchange Rate Effects on Cash

Monday, September 24, 2018
The Missing Unremitted Foreign Earnings

Tuesday, September 18, 2018
Thoughts on Structured Data

Sunday, September 16, 2018
Calcbench Goes to the Movies

Wednesday, September 12, 2018
The First-Ever Calcbench Webinar

Friday, August 31, 2018
Q&A: Ahmet Kurt and Researching Financial Data Quality

Friday, August 17, 2018
Leasing Costs and the Income Statement

Wednesday, August 15, 2018
Costs of Revenue, SG&A: Q2 Update

Tuesday, August 14, 2018
Who is affected by Turkey?

Wednesday, August 8, 2018
Lease Accounting and Return on Assets

Thursday, August 2, 2018
Latest Look at Leasing Liabilities

Thursday, July 26, 2018
Bargain Hunting in Calcbench

Wednesday, July 25, 2018
Chicken Soup for the Analyst’s Soul

Thursday, July 19, 2018
Calcbench Report: Share Repurchase Programs

Tuesday, July 17, 2018
Free Cash Flow, Big Filers and Small

Archive  |  Search:
And Now, 8-K Disclosures Galore
Monday, July 9, 2018

Devotees of corporate disclosure, rejoice! Calcbench has yet again expanded our troves of data available to you, and you can now search for all disclosures companies might make in their Form 8-Ks.

Corporate filers use the Form 8-K to report any “material corporate events” that happen outside the normal quarterly and annual reports. That could be anything from a bankruptcy filing, to a merger deal, to an executive’s sudden departure, to announcing a financial restatement. The SEC has a complete list on its website — which is the whole point of our news today.

Until now, Calcbench subscribers could only search for earnings release data submitted via 8-K filing. Now, on our Interactive Disclosure page, you can search all disclosures a company might make with the Form 8-K.

How do you find all this information? Easy. Just go to the Interactive Disclosure page, and pull up the “Choose footnote/disclosure type” menu on the left-hand side. Scroll to the bottom — which is a ways down, because, ya know, we offer that many data choices — and you’ll see all the choices for “8Ks by Item Type.” You’ll see disclosures like this, below.

Select the one you want, and you can then start searching for text strings within that 8-K disclosure type. (The text search field is on the right-hand side. And all of this presumes you’ve already chosen the companies you want to search, which you can do at the top of the search page.)

That’s really all there is to it. Now you can dive even more deeply into the data — which, of course, is what Calcbench is all about.


FREE Calcbench Premium
Two Week Trial

Research Financial & Accounting Data Like Never Before. More features and try our Excel add-in. Sign up now to try the Premium Suite.