RECENT POSTS
Tuesday, June 11, 2019
Not Much Fizz in LaCroix Right Now

Wednesday, May 29, 2019
An Example of Calcbench, Excel, and Insight

Monday, May 20, 2019
Research Paper: Capex Spending

Thursday, May 16, 2019
Psst: Got Any Weed?

Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Open Letter: SEC Proposed Rule for BDCs

Friday, May 10, 2019
General Motors and Workhorse

Monday, May 6, 2019
How to Find Earnings Release Data

Tuesday, April 23, 2019
Following Restructuring Costs Over Time

Monday, April 22, 2019
Capex Spending: More Than You Might Think

Saturday, April 13, 2019
When AWS Takes Over the World

Thursday, April 11, 2019
Data Trends in Focus: Restructuring Costs

Sunday, April 7, 2019
How One Customer Crushed It With Calcbench

Thursday, April 4, 2019
TJX Shows Complexity of Leasing Costs Reporting

Tuesday, April 2, 2019
CEO Pay Ratios: Some 2018 Thoughts

Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Corporate Spending: Where It Goes, 2017 vs. 2018

Monday, March 25, 2019
Health Insurers: A Bit Winded?

Friday, March 22, 2019
Our New Master Class Video

Thursday, March 21, 2019
Tech Data’s Goodwill Adjustment

Tuesday, March 19, 2019
There’s Taxes, and There’s Taxes

Saturday, March 16, 2019
Adventures in Tax Cuts and Net Income

Archive  |  Search:
Research: Q1 2018 Wrap-Up
Tuesday, June 26, 2018

Just in from our crack team on the Calcbench research desk: a comprehensive review of financial performance in first-quarter 2018, looking at the data of more than 3,600 corporate filers.

The news is generally good. Revenue, assets, net income, cash, dividends — all up (anywhere from 4 to 21 percent) compared to the year-ago period. Capital and operating expenses, SG&A, cost of revenue, and inventory were also up.

Who were the big winners in the first quarter? To a certain extent, all the usual suspects. The five firms with the largest totals of net income were (in order) Apple, Google, Microsoft, Facebook, and AT&T. Apple, Google, and Microsoft were also among the top five in net income one year ago, with Facebook and AT&T in the top 10.

And the 50 largest firms by revenue accounted for 41 percent of all revenue, with the remaining 3,600 firms splitting the other 59 percent. Walmart, Exxon-Mobil, McKesson, CVS-Caremark, Amazon, Ford, among others. Again, all the usual suspects.

Trouble Microbrewing?

What is interesting is that we may have some trouble in micro-cap filers. Among all classes of filers we examined, micro-cap stocks had declines in capital expenditures, cash, operating expenses, SG&A, and cost of revenue — while all others stayed flat or had those line items increase from last year.

What does that mean? You tell us. We can’t help but recall one of our posts last week about the rising costs of SG&A and cost of revenue, and the implication that many companies might be stretched quite thin in their ability to increase profit. If a shock to the cost of operations comes (tariffs on raw materials, rising oil prices, rising labor shortages) that could tip your trend line into something like what we see with the micro-cap stocks.

You can download the complete Q1 2018 report on the Calcbench research page. It has more charts, more companies named as big gainers or losers, and lots of other data. We publish these reports after every quarter, so check back in late August for Q2.


FREE Calcbench Premium
Two Week Trial

Research Financial & Accounting Data Like Never Before. More features and try our Excel add-in. Sign up now to try the Premium Suite.