RECENT POSTS
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
WeWork Liabilities, Part II

Tuesday, August 20, 2019
WeWork’s Liabilities in Perspective

Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Comparing LinkedIn, Twitter Revenue

Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Leasing’s Effect on Retail Balance Sheets

Thursday, August 1, 2019
Using Calcbench to Find China Exposure

Tuesday, July 30, 2019
Leasing Details: The Comcast Example

Monday, July 29, 2019
Easy Fundamental Equity Analysis in Python

Monday, July 22, 2019
Calcbench Data and Tax Reform Insight

Wednesday, July 17, 2019
Downshifting in the Trucking World

Tuesday, July 16, 2019
New Report: Adoption of New Lease Accounting Standard

Friday, July 5, 2019
More Consequences of Lease Accounting

Monday, July 1, 2019
Another Example of Tax Reform Twisting Bottom Line

Thursday, June 27, 2019
The Latest Share Repurchase Data

Tuesday, June 18, 2019
Popping the Lid on Smuckers’ Goodwill

Tuesday, June 11, 2019
Not Much Fizz in LaCroix Right Now

Wednesday, May 29, 2019
An Example of Calcbench, Excel, and Insight

Monday, May 20, 2019
Research Paper: Capex Spending

Thursday, May 16, 2019
Psst: Got Any Weed?

Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Open Letter: SEC Proposed Rule for BDCs

Friday, May 10, 2019
General Motors and Workhorse

Archive  |  Search:

If you like to obsess over the details of a big corporate merger — and why not? How often do these deals actually deliver the synergies executives promise at the start? — then we recommend yet another corner of Calcbench for you to research: our database of SEC comment letters.

We mention this because just last week we saw a letter from the SEC to Molson-Coors Brewing Co., questioning the company about its $12 billion merger announced in October 2016.

Except, as you can see below, the final deal wasn’t for $12 billion. Molson, the acquiring company, chopped $330 million off the final price to acquire Miller-Coors.

We note you completed the acquisition of MillerCoors in October 2016 for $12 billion in cash, subject to a downward purchase price adjustment as described in the purchase agreement. You disclose that you settled the purchase price adjustment with ABI on Jan. 21, 2018 for $330 million and since this settlement occurred after the finalization of purchase accounting, the settlement proceeds will be recorded as a gain within special items, net in your consolidated statement of operations for the three months ended March 31, 2018…

The SEC specifically wanted more detail on how that $330 million discount factors into the assets and liabilities Molson acquired, according to U.S. accounting rules. For whatever reason, the SEC staff didn’t feel that Molson had fully presented those details in its Form 10-K filed earlier this year.

The letter itself went to Molson-Coors in April. Per normal SEC practice, comment letters are only released to the public several weeks later, which is why we noticed it last week. (We were not drinking Molson on the job, we swear.)

As part of the Calcbench quest to tame all financial data and present it to you in easy-to-find, easy-to-read format, we have an index of publicly available SEC comment letters. It’s part of our Interactive Disclosure tool, where comment letters are among the many types of disclosure you can choose to search from the pull-down menu on the left side of your screen.

And as we can see from this letter above, the SEC can get into juicy stuff like purchase price allocation for mergers, revenue recognition, non-GAAP metrics that might push the limits of good taste, and more.

So feel free to crack open a bottle of Labatt’s and dive in — er, to the data, that is.


FREE Calcbench Premium
Two Week Trial

Research Financial & Accounting Data Like Never Before. More features and try our Excel add-in. Sign up now to try the Premium Suite.