RECENT POSTS
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
U.S. firms with Sales in China through 2018.

Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Tracking  Pension Data in Calcbench

Friday, October 4, 2019
In Depth: Leasing Costs in Retail Sector

Thursday, September 19, 2019
Alibaba and Cloud Computing

Monday, September 16, 2019
Introducing Critical Audit Matters

Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Our Fireside Chat on Goodwill Assets

Friday, September 6, 2019
Pulling Forward Share Buybacks

Saturday, August 31, 2019
A Quick Catch-Up on VMWare

Friday, August 23, 2019
By the Numbers: Restructuring Costs Over Time

Wednesday, August 21, 2019
WeWork Liabilities, Part II

Tuesday, August 20, 2019
WeWork’s Liabilities in Perspective

Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Comparing LinkedIn, Twitter Revenue

Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Leasing’s Effect on Retail Balance Sheets

Thursday, August 1, 2019
Using Calcbench to Find China Exposure

Tuesday, July 30, 2019
Leasing Details: The Comcast Example

Monday, July 29, 2019
Easy Fundamental Equity Analysis in Python

Monday, July 22, 2019
Calcbench Data and Tax Reform Insight

Wednesday, July 17, 2019
Downshifting in the Trucking World

Tuesday, July 16, 2019
New Report: Adoption of New Lease Accounting Standard

Friday, July 5, 2019
More Consequences of Lease Accounting

Archive  |  Search:
What ELSE is in a 10-K? Risk Factors
Tuesday, March 6, 2018

Even for pro investors, 10-Ks are a bit intimidating. Around 40 thousand words, on average. Trust me, no one is reading them all. And that’s a shame, because the info inside we all agree is important for making investment decisions. Just skipping to the income statement and balance sheet for companies you’re going to bet good money on is a big mistake. But what parts should you read? And why?

One particularly under loved section of an annual report is the ‘Risk Factors’. Yes, this section is full of boilerplate, and at first glance really doesn’t seem to shed much light on anything…full of legalize, signifying nothing. So, why should we read them? We asked a couple of pros that have been around a while for their thoughts:

First, Jason Voss, CFA, pointed us to this section in his book “The Intuitive Investor…”

“The Risk Factors section is investor gold. Why? Because the section is authored by the usually lawsuit-fearing legal departments of businesses. This means that they disclose actual information, not about returns potential, but about things that can go wrong. How often? Often enough that they care to put them in the report. It has been my experience that if a company identifies a risk then it has a good chance of kiboshing your shares eventually.”

And from Jack Ciesielski, long time publisher of The Analyst’s Accounting Observer

“Yes, the risk factors are usually volume-heavy and a lot of it may be what investors already know.

That said, I’ve found them useful in understanding say, nuances of how a shared asset between companies might be damaged by one party, or just how much rights can be exercised by a company over a brand name that it doesn’t fully own, or how legislation might impact the value of an asset negatively. I’m always interested in how concentrated the risks of a company may be in the fortunes of just a handful of customers (or just one), and sometimes the risk factors provide more details than the GAAP concentrations disclosures. Also, the discussions of competition and competitors are usually more interesting than the SEC-required disclosures.”

One thing Calcbench is great at is helping you dig through the dark corners of SEC filings, making reading, searching, and comparing text topics like Risk Factors so much easier than before. You can use our web platform, our API, or even our Excel Add-in to quickly pull up disclosures by topic. More about that here.


FREE Calcbench Premium
Two Week Trial

Research Financial & Accounting Data Like Never Before. More features and try our Excel add-in. Sign up now to try the Premium Suite.