RECENT POSTS
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
A Look at Climate Change Disclosures

Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Quants: Point-in-Time Data for Backtesting

Friday, December 28, 2018
Now Showing: Controls & Procedures

Thursday, December 27, 2018
A Reminder on Non-GAAP Reporting Rules

Monday, December 17, 2018
Researching PG&E’s Wildfire Risk

Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Tracking Brexit Disclosures

Thursday, December 6, 2018
Campbell Soup: Looking Behind the Label

Sunday, December 2, 2018
SEC Comment Letters: The Amazon Example

Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Measuring Big Pharma’s Chemical Dependency

Monday, November 26, 2018
Analysts, Can You Relate? A True Story

Monday, November 19, 2018
Digging Up Historical Trend Data: Quest Example

Sunday, November 11, 2018
Cost of Revenue, SG&A: Q3 Update

Monday, November 5, 2018
Lease Accounting: FedEx vs. UPS

Saturday, November 3, 2018
New Email Alerting Powers

Wednesday, October 31, 2018
PTC and Two Tales of Revenue

Tuesday, October 30, 2018
10-K/Q Section Text Change Detection

Sunday, October 28, 2018
Finding Purchase Price Allocation

Sunday, October 21, 2018
Charting Netflix Growth in Three Ways

Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Interesting Data on Interest Income

Thursday, October 11, 2018
The Decline of Sears in Three Charts

Archive  |  Search:
Tax Reform Disclosures: Five Examples
Wednesday, January 24, 2018

As corporations continue to file their first wave of financial statements after passage of tax reform in late December, we decided to take a peek at what disclosures they’re making about the law’s likely effects for them…

  • Amcon Distributing said on Jan. 18 that the new corporate tax rate of 21 percent will lead to a $900,000 tax benefit in first quarter 2018. That benefit comes from applying the 21 percent rate to long-term tax deferred liabilities on the firm’s balance sheet.
  • Agribusiness CHS Inc. said on Jan. 10 that it is still studying the consequences of tax reform, and “we expect to record a material tax benefit due to the revaluation of our net deferred tax liability position,” although CHS declined to estimate what that benefit might be.
  • That’s more than we can say for Nike. On Jan. 5, Nike said it expects to incur a material additional income tax expense, primarily related to the transition tax on accumulated foreign earnings, the repeal of foreign tax credits, and the remeasurement of certain deferred tax assets and liabilities.
  • Cal-Maine Foods published an earnings release Jan. 5 saying the new tax rate would be applied to a deferred tax liability of $75.3 million it has on the books, which will result in a smaller liability and therefore a benefit to income tax expense.
  • On the other hand, SuperValu said on Jan. 10 that it will take a non-cash charge of $35 million to $45 million to reduce the value of deferred tax assets it’s carrying.

You get the idea: most companies talking about tax reform so far have been disclosing changes to the value of deferred tax assets or liabilities. We saw an early wave of similar disclosures at the end of December, as large banks disclosed short-term charges for the fourth quarter that sometimes reached into the billions.

Those are the short-term effects of tax reform. Over the long term, companies should, presumably, start reporting larger net income and lower effective tax rates, as the one-time adjustments of tax assets recede and the permanent lower rates take hold.

Calcbench subscribers can always monitor what companies disclose about tax reform by using the Interactive Disclosures page. Just set the company (or companies) you want to research, and enter “tax reform” or some similar term in the text search box on the right-hand side. Then feast on the results.


FREE Calcbench Premium
Two Week Trial

Research Financial & Accounting Data Like Never Before. More features and try our Excel add-in. Sign up now to try the Premium Suite.