RECENT POSTS
Monday, January 21, 2019
Differences in Earnings Releases and 10-Ks

Wednesday, January 16, 2019
The Importance of Textual Analysis

Tuesday, January 8, 2019
A Look at Climate Change Disclosures

Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Quants: Point-in-Time Data for Backtesting

Friday, December 28, 2018
Now Showing: Controls & Procedures

Thursday, December 27, 2018
A Reminder on Non-GAAP Reporting Rules

Monday, December 17, 2018
Researching PG&E’s Wildfire Risk

Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Tracking Brexit Disclosures

Thursday, December 6, 2018
Campbell Soup: Looking Behind the Label

Sunday, December 2, 2018
SEC Comment Letters: The Amazon Example

Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Measuring Big Pharma’s Chemical Dependency

Monday, November 26, 2018
Analysts, Can You Relate? A True Story

Monday, November 19, 2018
Digging Up Historical Trend Data: Quest Example

Sunday, November 11, 2018
Cost of Revenue, SG&A: Q3 Update

Monday, November 5, 2018
Lease Accounting: FedEx vs. UPS

Saturday, November 3, 2018
New Email Alerting Powers

Wednesday, October 31, 2018
PTC and Two Tales of Revenue

Tuesday, October 30, 2018
10-K/Q Section Text Change Detection

Sunday, October 28, 2018
Finding Purchase Price Allocation

Sunday, October 21, 2018
Charting Netflix Growth in Three Ways

Archive  |  Search:

In our previous post we talked about all of the data you can find in earnings press releases. Now we’ll see how we can use that data. (Click here to download our full Earnings Release Analysis Guide.)

First of all, keep an eye on our Recent Filings Page. You can see all of the press releases coming in today or a different day: www.calcbench.com/recentfilings.

From there you can click to go directly to that press release in our financial statements viewer, or our interactive disclosure viewer.

1)      Using Our Disclosure Viewer:

Pick a single company or group of companies you’re interested in (more about that here).

Choose Earnings Release from the drop down list of disclosure topics:

If you are interested in just the most recent releases…click ‘Most Recent’ from the period menu:

Otherwise, pick a period and year, OR pick ‘All History’ if you want to look at a company or companies over time.

Now you can read the filings, and…

Export individual tables to excel:

Highlight a specific period’s numbers for ease of use:

Look at number histories:

Or EVEN BETTER, if you use our (super awesome) Excel Add in, you can:

Open our disclosure viewer from Excel:

Go through the same steps above, and then just click on numbers, or whole tables, to populate your model:

2)      How to Use Press Release Data in the CID or Multi-company Page:

If there are full financial statements in a press release, we will merge that data with our existing financial statements for the company…in line-item detail as always! You can see this on the Company in Detail page for the particular company.

Also, we collect some of the individual data topics contained in earnings releases. Click the ‘Guidance & Non-GAAP Metrics’ button to see values for the focus company:

In addition, we standardize some of the Non-GAAP metrics, Guidance, and Operating Metrics so you can see the history over time. You can find these standardized metrics in the metric explorer when you go to our Multi-Company page.


FREE Calcbench Premium
Two Week Trial

Research Financial & Accounting Data Like Never Before. More features and try our Excel add-in. Sign up now to try the Premium Suite.