RECENT POSTS
Thursday, March 21, 2019
Tech Data’s Goodwill Adjustment

Tuesday, March 19, 2019
There’s Taxes, and There’s Taxes

Saturday, March 16, 2019
Adventures in Tax Cuts and Net Income

Monday, March 11, 2019
Big Moves in Goodwill, Intangible Value

Friday, March 8, 2019
CVS, Goodwill, and Enterprise Value

Thursday, February 28, 2019
Summary of Our Goodwill Research/ How-To

Wednesday, February 27, 2019
What Does ‘Other’ Mean? An Example

Thursday, February 21, 2019
Another Tale, Buried in the Footnotes

Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Low Latency Calcbench

Monday, February 11, 2019
Now Streaming on Hulu: Red Ink

Thursday, February 7, 2019
Early Look at 2018 Tax Decline

Wednesday, February 6, 2019
You Revised WHAT, Netflix?

Thursday, January 31, 2019
Talking About Huawei Exposure

Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Another Discrepancy in Reported Numbers

Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Finding Revised Facts: Hertz Edition

Wednesday, January 23, 2019
GE Commercial Aviation Services: Bringing Numbers to Light

Monday, January 21, 2019
Differences in Earnings Releases and 10-Ks

Wednesday, January 16, 2019
The Importance of Textual Analysis

Tuesday, January 8, 2019
A Look at Climate Change Disclosures

Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Quants: Point-in-Time Data for Backtesting

Archive  |  Search:

In our previous post we talked about all of the data you can find in earnings press releases. Now we’ll see how we can use that data. (Click here to download our full Earnings Release Analysis Guide.)

First of all, keep an eye on our Recent Filings Page. You can see all of the press releases coming in today or a different day: www.calcbench.com/recentfilings.

From there you can click to go directly to that press release in our financial statements viewer, or our interactive disclosure viewer.

1)      Using Our Disclosure Viewer:

Pick a single company or group of companies you’re interested in (more about that here).

Choose Earnings Release from the drop down list of disclosure topics:

If you are interested in just the most recent releases…click ‘Most Recent’ from the period menu:

Otherwise, pick a period and year, OR pick ‘All History’ if you want to look at a company or companies over time.

Now you can read the filings, and…

Export individual tables to excel:

Highlight a specific period’s numbers for ease of use:

Look at number histories:

Or EVEN BETTER, if you use our (super awesome) Excel Add in, you can:

Open our disclosure viewer from Excel:

Go through the same steps above, and then just click on numbers, or whole tables, to populate your model:

2)      How to Use Press Release Data in the CID or Multi-company Page:

If there are full financial statements in a press release, we will merge that data with our existing financial statements for the company…in line-item detail as always! You can see this on the Company in Detail page for the particular company.

Also, we collect some of the individual data topics contained in earnings releases. Click the ‘Guidance & Non-GAAP Metrics’ button to see values for the focus company:

In addition, we standardize some of the Non-GAAP metrics, Guidance, and Operating Metrics so you can see the history over time. You can find these standardized metrics in the metric explorer when you go to our Multi-Company page.


FREE Calcbench Premium
Two Week Trial

Research Financial & Accounting Data Like Never Before. More features and try our Excel add-in. Sign up now to try the Premium Suite.