RECENT POSTS
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
WeWork Liabilities, Part II

Tuesday, August 20, 2019
WeWork’s Liabilities in Perspective

Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Comparing LinkedIn, Twitter Revenue

Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Leasing’s Effect on Retail Balance Sheets

Thursday, August 1, 2019
Using Calcbench to Find China Exposure

Tuesday, July 30, 2019
Leasing Details: The Comcast Example

Monday, July 29, 2019
Easy Fundamental Equity Analysis in Python

Monday, July 22, 2019
Calcbench Data and Tax Reform Insight

Wednesday, July 17, 2019
Downshifting in the Trucking World

Tuesday, July 16, 2019
New Report: Adoption of New Lease Accounting Standard

Friday, July 5, 2019
More Consequences of Lease Accounting

Monday, July 1, 2019
Another Example of Tax Reform Twisting Bottom Line

Thursday, June 27, 2019
The Latest Share Repurchase Data

Tuesday, June 18, 2019
Popping the Lid on Smuckers’ Goodwill

Tuesday, June 11, 2019
Not Much Fizz in LaCroix Right Now

Wednesday, May 29, 2019
An Example of Calcbench, Excel, and Insight

Monday, May 20, 2019
Research Paper: Capex Spending

Thursday, May 16, 2019
Psst: Got Any Weed?

Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Open Letter: SEC Proposed Rule for BDCs

Friday, May 10, 2019
General Motors and Workhorse

Archive  |  Search:
Tracking Disclosure of Hurricane Damage
Monday, October 16, 2017

The hurricanes that have battered Puerto Rico, Texas, and Florida this fall are material events for many companies. Employees may be unable to return to work; physical facilities may be in ruins; insurance payouts might blow apart carefully planned balance sheets.

How material will hurricane damage be? We don’t yet know the full picture. But already some companies are giving an early picture in their disclosures, and Calcbench subscribers can find that data with a few keystrokes.

For example, Delta Airlines took a $120 million hit to pre-tax income in third-quarter 2017 due to disruptions that hammered its hub in Atlanta and lucrative routes across the Caribbean. Lennar Corp., a home builder, said on Sept. 14 that Hurricane Irma will probably push delivery of 700 homes in the Florida market from fourth-quarter 2017 into early 2018. Azz Inc., a maker of coatings for the electrical industry, lowered expectations for its industrial products line because both hurricanes idled its factors across the South for days.

As of Oct. 15, Calcbench counted 13 companies that had disclosed some sort of update to investors about hurricane damage. We will undoubtedly see more. The wildfires in California are likely to prompt more disclosures too.

How do Calcbench subscribers track what filers are saying? Easy.

Start at the Interactive Disclosure Page. On the left-hand side, set the parameters for whatever group of companies you want to search. (We searched the “whole universe” of filers to find the 13 companies mentioned above.) On the right-hand side, select the “Calendar Year” radio button and “2017-Q3” for the “Select Calendar Year and Period” icon. Then, in the text search box on the right-hand side, just type “hurricane.”

For now, to find as many results as possible, don’t bother narrowing the type of disclosure through the drop-down menu on the left. In the fullness of time companies will probably make many, many disclosures related to the hurricanes, across multiple periods. When that happens, then you might want to restrict disclosure type to earnings release, or preliminary results, or 10-Q.

Right now, we just want to capture as many fresh results as possible. That’s how you do it.


FREE Calcbench Premium
Two Week Trial

Research Financial & Accounting Data Like Never Before. More features and try our Excel add-in. Sign up now to try the Premium Suite.