RECENT POSTS
Thursday, March 21, 2019
Tech Data’s Goodwill Adjustment

Tuesday, March 19, 2019
There’s Taxes, and There’s Taxes

Saturday, March 16, 2019
Adventures in Tax Cuts and Net Income

Monday, March 11, 2019
Big Moves in Goodwill, Intangible Value

Friday, March 8, 2019
CVS, Goodwill, and Enterprise Value

Thursday, February 28, 2019
Summary of Our Goodwill Research/ How-To

Wednesday, February 27, 2019
What Does ‘Other’ Mean? An Example

Thursday, February 21, 2019
Another Tale, Buried in the Footnotes

Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Low Latency Calcbench

Monday, February 11, 2019
Now Streaming on Hulu: Red Ink

Thursday, February 7, 2019
Early Look at 2018 Tax Decline

Wednesday, February 6, 2019
You Revised WHAT, Netflix?

Thursday, January 31, 2019
Talking About Huawei Exposure

Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Another Discrepancy in Reported Numbers

Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Finding Revised Facts: Hertz Edition

Wednesday, January 23, 2019
GE Commercial Aviation Services: Bringing Numbers to Light

Monday, January 21, 2019
Differences in Earnings Releases and 10-Ks

Wednesday, January 16, 2019
The Importance of Textual Analysis

Tuesday, January 8, 2019
A Look at Climate Change Disclosures

Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Quants: Point-in-Time Data for Backtesting

Archive  |  Search:
2018 GAAP Taxonomy Available for Comment
Wednesday, September 6, 2017
This one is for all you aficionados of U.S. Generally Accepted Accounting Principles— FASB has released its proposed 2018 taxonomy of GAAP terms for public comment.

The GAAP taxonomy, updated every year, is a crucial part of clear financial reporting and smarter, more automated financial analysis. The terms define line items such as revenue, net income, goodwill, PPE, and so forth; and those terms are then connected to the XBRL data filing language companies use to submit financial reports to the SEC.

Software can then read those XBRL-tagged financial reports and present financial data with more speed and precision. All the super-cool stuff you see in Calcbench databases? It traces back a clear taxonomy of GAAP terms.

The proposed taxonomy is out for public comment until Oct. 31, 2017. So if participating in the financial reporting process is your thing, visit the FASB website and speak up. (FASB also plans an explanatory webcast on Oct. 3 to walk through the proposed taxonomy.)


FREE Calcbench Premium
Two Week Trial

Research Financial & Accounting Data Like Never Before. More features and try our Excel add-in. Sign up now to try the Premium Suite.