RECENT POSTS
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
U.S. firms with Sales in China through 2018.

Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Tracking  Pension Data in Calcbench

Friday, October 4, 2019
In Depth: Leasing Costs in Retail Sector

Thursday, September 19, 2019
Alibaba and Cloud Computing

Monday, September 16, 2019
Introducing Critical Audit Matters

Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Our Fireside Chat on Goodwill Assets

Friday, September 6, 2019
Pulling Forward Share Buybacks

Saturday, August 31, 2019
A Quick Catch-Up on VMWare

Friday, August 23, 2019
By the Numbers: Restructuring Costs Over Time

Wednesday, August 21, 2019
WeWork Liabilities, Part II

Tuesday, August 20, 2019
WeWork’s Liabilities in Perspective

Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Comparing LinkedIn, Twitter Revenue

Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Leasing’s Effect on Retail Balance Sheets

Thursday, August 1, 2019
Using Calcbench to Find China Exposure

Tuesday, July 30, 2019
Leasing Details: The Comcast Example

Monday, July 29, 2019
Easy Fundamental Equity Analysis in Python

Monday, July 22, 2019
Calcbench Data and Tax Reform Insight

Wednesday, July 17, 2019
Downshifting in the Trucking World

Tuesday, July 16, 2019
New Report: Adoption of New Lease Accounting Standard

Friday, July 5, 2019
More Consequences of Lease Accounting

Archive  |  Search:

Calcbench provides lots of data on lots of companies, including businesses with extensive operations in foreign currencies. Today, therefore, we’re going to show an easy shortcut so you can see financial data calculated in different currencies.

It’s easy. Start by going to our Company in Detail database, and examining the financial data of whatever company you’re studying. In our example, we’ll use Google.

Look for a small pull-down menu along the top, helpfully labeled “Currency.” See Figure 1, below; circled in red.

That pull-down menu lets you recalculate the displayed financial data in any of 24 different currencies: U.S. dollars, Canadian dollars, the Swedish krona, Japanese yen, Indian rupees, Thai baht. Heck, we even have the Venezuelan bolivar, if inflationary currencies are your thing.

Just select the currency you want, and the data will re-display in those values. If you ever aren’t certain what currency you see on your screen, all our financial data has the appropriate currency symbol next to it. (Which, in many cases, is whatever three-letter convention the markets use for a currency: VEF, SEK, THB, etc.)

By default, our financial data is displayed in a filing’s “native” currency, although usually that is U.S. dollars. The exchange rates are pulled from online calculators that track the latest rate at any given moment.

That’s really all there is to it with this shortcut. Enjoy!


FREE Calcbench Premium
Two Week Trial

Research Financial & Accounting Data Like Never Before. More features and try our Excel add-in. Sign up now to try the Premium Suite.