RECENT POSTS
Thursday, May 16, 2019
Psst: Got Any Weed?

Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Open Letter: SEC Proposed Rule for BDCs

Friday, May 10, 2019
General Motors and Workhorse

Monday, May 6, 2019
How to Find Earnings Release Data

Tuesday, April 23, 2019
Following Restructuring Costs Over Time

Monday, April 22, 2019
Capex Spending: More Than You Might Think

Saturday, April 13, 2019
When AWS Takes Over the World

Thursday, April 11, 2019
Data Trends in Focus: Restructuring Costs

Sunday, April 7, 2019
How One Customer Crushed It With Calcbench

Thursday, April 4, 2019
TJX Shows Complexity of Leasing Costs Reporting

Tuesday, April 2, 2019
CEO Pay Ratios: Some 2018 Thoughts

Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Corporate Spending: Where It Goes, 2017 vs. 2018

Monday, March 25, 2019
Health Insurers: A Bit Winded?

Friday, March 22, 2019
Our New Master Class Video

Thursday, March 21, 2019
Tech Data’s Goodwill Adjustment

Tuesday, March 19, 2019
There’s Taxes, and There’s Taxes

Saturday, March 16, 2019
Adventures in Tax Cuts and Net Income

Monday, March 11, 2019
Big Moves in Goodwill, Intangible Value

Friday, March 8, 2019
CVS, Goodwill, and Enterprise Value

Thursday, February 28, 2019
Summary of Our Goodwill Research/ How-To

Archive  |  Search:

Calcbench provides lots of data on lots of companies, including businesses with extensive operations in foreign currencies. Today, therefore, we’re going to show an easy shortcut so you can see financial data calculated in different currencies.

It’s easy. Start by going to our Company in Detail database, and examining the financial data of whatever company you’re studying. In our example, we’ll use Google.

Look for a small pull-down menu along the top, helpfully labeled “Currency.” See Figure 1, below; circled in red.

That pull-down menu lets you recalculate the displayed financial data in any of 24 different currencies: U.S. dollars, Canadian dollars, the Swedish krona, Japanese yen, Indian rupees, Thai baht. Heck, we even have the Venezuelan bolivar, if inflationary currencies are your thing.

Just select the currency you want, and the data will re-display in those values. If you ever aren’t certain what currency you see on your screen, all our financial data has the appropriate currency symbol next to it. (Which, in many cases, is whatever three-letter convention the markets use for a currency: VEF, SEK, THB, etc.)

By default, our financial data is displayed in a filing’s “native” currency, although usually that is U.S. dollars. The exchange rates are pulled from online calculators that track the latest rate at any given moment.

That’s really all there is to it with this shortcut. Enjoy!


FREE Calcbench Premium
Two Week Trial

Research Financial & Accounting Data Like Never Before. More features and try our Excel add-in. Sign up now to try the Premium Suite.