RECENT POSTS
Monday, January 21, 2019
Differences in Earnings Releases and 10-Ks

Wednesday, January 16, 2019
The Importance of Textual Analysis

Tuesday, January 8, 2019
A Look at Climate Change Disclosures

Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Quants: Point-in-Time Data for Backtesting

Friday, December 28, 2018
Now Showing: Controls & Procedures

Thursday, December 27, 2018
A Reminder on Non-GAAP Reporting Rules

Monday, December 17, 2018
Researching PG&E’s Wildfire Risk

Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Tracking Brexit Disclosures

Thursday, December 6, 2018
Campbell Soup: Looking Behind the Label

Sunday, December 2, 2018
SEC Comment Letters: The Amazon Example

Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Measuring Big Pharma’s Chemical Dependency

Monday, November 26, 2018
Analysts, Can You Relate? A True Story

Monday, November 19, 2018
Digging Up Historical Trend Data: Quest Example

Sunday, November 11, 2018
Cost of Revenue, SG&A: Q3 Update

Monday, November 5, 2018
Lease Accounting: FedEx vs. UPS

Saturday, November 3, 2018
New Email Alerting Powers

Wednesday, October 31, 2018
PTC and Two Tales of Revenue

Tuesday, October 30, 2018
10-K/Q Section Text Change Detection

Sunday, October 28, 2018
Finding Purchase Price Allocation

Sunday, October 21, 2018
Charting Netflix Growth in Three Ways

Archive  |  Search:
Why Use Calcbench? This Is Why.
Wednesday, March 8, 2017

Not long ago a prospective customer asked us what makes Calcbench so special, and why someone should use our data services rather than a competitor’s. We pulled together some thoughts for that customer, and wanted to share those answers with you as well.

First, we’re fast. Our automated, AI based technology lets us scoop up and process financial data within minutes of a company submitting that data to the SEC. Compare that to the hand collecting & checking that is still the standard within the rest of the industry, and you are looking at time savings of hours, days and even weeks depending on what particular data you are looking for.

Second, our data is interactive. Just about every number you see in our databases can be traced back to the original item in the original corporate filing. We understand that you need to be able to trust the data that you see. Our tracing feature lets you take it one step further: you can trust the number, and then verify it by tracing back to the original filing. Nobody beats us on this point.

Third, we bring you data as reported. That means you get the company’s financials in original line item detail, spread over multiple time periods, but without omitting or merging any company specific or extraordinary line items. This saves analysts hours of hand entry, EVEN WHEN they have access to high end data tools. But don’t take it from us: “My students need to analyze statements "as is” without any standardization by a third party. For that purpose, Calcbench is the best resource that I have come across.“ – Dan Gode, Ph.D., NYU Stern.

Fourth, our databases allow you to search disclosures by type. Our Interactive Disclosures page lets you pull up specific types of disclosure you want to review, and to search for specific text within those disclosures. That’s how you find the juicy stuff buried in the footnotes. (Consider one example from Walmart and its anti-corruption investigation costs.) It’s not easy to do. Calcbench can do it, while many of our competitors can’t. That may be why lots of junior and mid-level analysts don’t even read the footnotes—which is a shame, because we’re all for finding out the juicy stuff in the footnotes.

Fifth, our Excel Add-In is solid. You can reap all the benefits from our first four points above, and then put all that data into Excel and keep analyzing your heart out.

That’s why we’re awesome, and we don’t see that changing any time soon.

Equity analysts, take a look at our presentation here.


FREE Calcbench Premium
Two Week Trial

Research Financial & Accounting Data Like Never Before. More features and try our Excel add-in. Sign up now to try the Premium Suite.