RECENT POSTS
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
WeWork Liabilities, Part II

Tuesday, August 20, 2019
WeWork’s Liabilities in Perspective

Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Comparing LinkedIn, Twitter Revenue

Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Leasing’s Effect on Retail Balance Sheets

Thursday, August 1, 2019
Using Calcbench to Find China Exposure

Tuesday, July 30, 2019
Leasing Details: The Comcast Example

Monday, July 29, 2019
Easy Fundamental Equity Analysis in Python

Monday, July 22, 2019
Calcbench Data and Tax Reform Insight

Wednesday, July 17, 2019
Downshifting in the Trucking World

Tuesday, July 16, 2019
New Report: Adoption of New Lease Accounting Standard

Friday, July 5, 2019
More Consequences of Lease Accounting

Monday, July 1, 2019
Another Example of Tax Reform Twisting Bottom Line

Thursday, June 27, 2019
The Latest Share Repurchase Data

Tuesday, June 18, 2019
Popping the Lid on Smuckers’ Goodwill

Tuesday, June 11, 2019
Not Much Fizz in LaCroix Right Now

Wednesday, May 29, 2019
An Example of Calcbench, Excel, and Insight

Monday, May 20, 2019
Research Paper: Capex Spending

Thursday, May 16, 2019
Psst: Got Any Weed?

Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Open Letter: SEC Proposed Rule for BDCs

Friday, May 10, 2019
General Motors and Workhorse

Archive  |  Search:

Attention, all aficionados of corporate debt! The Financial Accounting Standards Board has floated a proposal to simplify how debt is classified on the balance sheet, which could ultimately change the amounts companies report as current or non-current.

The proposal, published earlier this week, would replace the fact-specific test that FASB offers now with simpler, principles-based guidance. That should ease the task of deciding where to report debt, either as current or non-current. The proposal would amend Accounting Standard 470, Debt.

The goal with the amendments is to focus debt classification on what the borrower’s rights and obligations are, as of the date a financial statement is filed. So for example, if a violation of a debt covenant has been waived, the borrowing company could continue to list that debt as non-current if the waiver is issued before the financial statements are filed.

The proposals are out for public comment until May, and then FASB will review the feedback and deliberate more; even if everyone loves the idea, no change will go into effect any time soon. The debt proposals are part of FASB’s long-term effort to simplify the rules around financial disclosure.

Assuming the rules do get adopted, they could lead companies to shift around some debt between current and non-current lines. FASB gave two examples:

  • Short-term debt that is refinanced on a long-term basis after the balance sheet date would no longer be classified as a noncurrent liability.
  • Companies with debt that contains subjective acceleration clauses would no longer be required to assess the likelihood of acceleration of the due date when determining whether the debt is a noncurrent or current liability.

None of this will affect Calcbench subscribers directly; we will always be able to capture current and non-current debt levels as companies report them. But financial analysts could see those debt levels shift around in the future, and this is why. We just wanted to pass along the news as a public service to anyone who might want to review the proposals and comment on them.


FREE Calcbench Premium
Two Week Trial

Research Financial & Accounting Data Like Never Before. More features and try our Excel add-in. Sign up now to try the Premium Suite.