RECENT POSTS
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
A Look at Climate Change Disclosures

Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Quants: Point-in-Time Data for Backtesting

Friday, December 28, 2018
Now Showing: Controls & Procedures

Thursday, December 27, 2018
A Reminder on Non-GAAP Reporting Rules

Monday, December 17, 2018
Researching PG&E’s Wildfire Risk

Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Tracking Brexit Disclosures

Thursday, December 6, 2018
Campbell Soup: Looking Behind the Label

Sunday, December 2, 2018
SEC Comment Letters: The Amazon Example

Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Measuring Big Pharma’s Chemical Dependency

Monday, November 26, 2018
Analysts, Can You Relate? A True Story

Monday, November 19, 2018
Digging Up Historical Trend Data: Quest Example

Sunday, November 11, 2018
Cost of Revenue, SG&A: Q3 Update

Monday, November 5, 2018
Lease Accounting: FedEx vs. UPS

Saturday, November 3, 2018
New Email Alerting Powers

Wednesday, October 31, 2018
PTC and Two Tales of Revenue

Tuesday, October 30, 2018
10-K/Q Section Text Change Detection

Sunday, October 28, 2018
Finding Purchase Price Allocation

Sunday, October 21, 2018
Charting Netflix Growth in Three Ways

Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Interesting Data on Interest Income

Thursday, October 11, 2018
The Decline of Sears in Three Charts

Archive  |  Search:

Europe’s top regulator for financial filings just announced that starting in 2020, filers there will need to make those submissions using Inline XBRL technology.

Yes, the effective date is four years away, and it won’t have much effect on Calcbench subscribers even when 2020 does roll around. Still, it’s proof that XBRL technology—the data language used to simplify the presentation of financial statements—continues its march forward into the financial reporting world.

The agency, the European Securities and Markets Authority, said the rule will apply to companies that file financial statements according to International Financial Reporting Standards, and those filings must use the IFRS filing taxonomy to match accounting line-items to specific XBRL tags.

U.S. filers already file financial statements tagged according to U.S. Generally Accepted Accounting Principles. Last summer the Securities and Exchange Commission announced a voluntary program to let U.S. filers submit financial filings using Inline XBRL technology. That program expires in 2020, although one can presume that if the program goes well, Inline XBRL might become the filing technology of choice here in the United States, too.

Most Calcbench users don’t need to care much about Inline XBRL. It’s a behind-the-scenes technology that we use here, to improve the functionality of our databases and how the data you want to find gets presented on your screen. Those of you directly involved in preparing and filing corporate financial statements might want to keep one eye on Inline XBRL. The rest of you—Calcbench has you covered.

You can read a short FAQs post about Inline XBRL we ran last summer, if you like. We also had a follow-up post on observations from the first Inline XBRL filing made in the United States, from Lennar Corp.


FREE Calcbench Premium
Two Week Trial

Research Financial & Accounting Data Like Never Before. More features and try our Excel add-in. Sign up now to try the Premium Suite.