RECENT POSTS
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
WeWork Liabilities, Part II

Tuesday, August 20, 2019
WeWork’s Liabilities in Perspective

Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Comparing LinkedIn, Twitter Revenue

Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Leasing’s Effect on Retail Balance Sheets

Thursday, August 1, 2019
Using Calcbench to Find China Exposure

Tuesday, July 30, 2019
Leasing Details: The Comcast Example

Monday, July 29, 2019
Easy Fundamental Equity Analysis in Python

Monday, July 22, 2019
Calcbench Data and Tax Reform Insight

Wednesday, July 17, 2019
Downshifting in the Trucking World

Tuesday, July 16, 2019
New Report: Adoption of New Lease Accounting Standard

Friday, July 5, 2019
More Consequences of Lease Accounting

Monday, July 1, 2019
Another Example of Tax Reform Twisting Bottom Line

Thursday, June 27, 2019
The Latest Share Repurchase Data

Tuesday, June 18, 2019
Popping the Lid on Smuckers’ Goodwill

Tuesday, June 11, 2019
Not Much Fizz in LaCroix Right Now

Wednesday, May 29, 2019
An Example of Calcbench, Excel, and Insight

Monday, May 20, 2019
Research Paper: Capex Spending

Thursday, May 16, 2019
Psst: Got Any Weed?

Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Open Letter: SEC Proposed Rule for BDCs

Friday, May 10, 2019
General Motors and Workhorse

Archive  |  Search:

Europe’s top regulator for financial filings just announced that starting in 2020, filers there will need to make those submissions using Inline XBRL technology.

Yes, the effective date is four years away, and it won’t have much effect on Calcbench subscribers even when 2020 does roll around. Still, it’s proof that XBRL technology—the data language used to simplify the presentation of financial statements—continues its march forward into the financial reporting world.

The agency, the European Securities and Markets Authority, said the rule will apply to companies that file financial statements according to International Financial Reporting Standards, and those filings must use the IFRS filing taxonomy to match accounting line-items to specific XBRL tags.

U.S. filers already file financial statements tagged according to U.S. Generally Accepted Accounting Principles. Last summer the Securities and Exchange Commission announced a voluntary program to let U.S. filers submit financial filings using Inline XBRL technology. That program expires in 2020, although one can presume that if the program goes well, Inline XBRL might become the filing technology of choice here in the United States, too.

Most Calcbench users don’t need to care much about Inline XBRL. It’s a behind-the-scenes technology that we use here, to improve the functionality of our databases and how the data you want to find gets presented on your screen. Those of you directly involved in preparing and filing corporate financial statements might want to keep one eye on Inline XBRL. The rest of you—Calcbench has you covered.

You can read a short FAQs post about Inline XBRL we ran last summer, if you like. We also had a follow-up post on observations from the first Inline XBRL filing made in the United States, from Lennar Corp.


FREE Calcbench Premium
Two Week Trial

Research Financial & Accounting Data Like Never Before. More features and try our Excel add-in. Sign up now to try the Premium Suite.