RECENT POSTS
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
WeWork Liabilities, Part II

Tuesday, August 20, 2019
WeWork’s Liabilities in Perspective

Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Comparing LinkedIn, Twitter Revenue

Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Leasing’s Effect on Retail Balance Sheets

Thursday, August 1, 2019
Using Calcbench to Find China Exposure

Tuesday, July 30, 2019
Leasing Details: The Comcast Example

Monday, July 29, 2019
Easy Fundamental Equity Analysis in Python

Monday, July 22, 2019
Calcbench Data and Tax Reform Insight

Wednesday, July 17, 2019
Downshifting in the Trucking World

Tuesday, July 16, 2019
New Report: Adoption of New Lease Accounting Standard

Friday, July 5, 2019
More Consequences of Lease Accounting

Monday, July 1, 2019
Another Example of Tax Reform Twisting Bottom Line

Thursday, June 27, 2019
The Latest Share Repurchase Data

Tuesday, June 18, 2019
Popping the Lid on Smuckers’ Goodwill

Tuesday, June 11, 2019
Not Much Fizz in LaCroix Right Now

Wednesday, May 29, 2019
An Example of Calcbench, Excel, and Insight

Monday, May 20, 2019
Research Paper: Capex Spending

Thursday, May 16, 2019
Psst: Got Any Weed?

Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Open Letter: SEC Proposed Rule for BDCs

Friday, May 10, 2019
General Motors and Workhorse

Archive  |  Search:

A certain presidential candidate has been in the news lately for the $916 million business loss he recorded in 1995, allowing him to avoid paying federal taxes potentially for another 18 years thanks to net operating loss carryforwards.

While Calcbench takes no official view on the merits of Donald Trump’s candidacy, this particular episode of the campaign led us to wonder what other companies have claimed for NOLs lately, and how large their tax benefits might be. As always, the Calcbench databases made answering that question a breeze. Let’s take a look.

We begin at the Data Query page, and we’ll set our peer group to be the S&P 500, looking at NOLs for calendar year 2015. To set that as our search parameter, we scroll halfway down the page to the Footnotes section, and press “Tax” to show our footnote choices there. Under the tax category another checklist of choices appears, and the 12th one down is “Deferred Tax Assets, Net.” Immediately under that choice is “Deferred Tax Assets Operating Loss Carryforwards.”

That’s our box. Check it, then jump to the bottom of the page to export the findings to Excel.

In total, the S&P 500 claimed $277.4 billion in NOLs last year. More than 80 percent of the companies (406 of 498) claimed at least some NOL, and the Top 10 by dollar amount are as follows:

We can also put Trump’s $915 million loss into more context. Adjusted for inflation, that loss in 1995 would equal about $1.44 billion today. A loss that large would rank him No. 52 on our list of 2015 losses, right between Baxter International ($1.489 billion) and Cisco Systems ($1.437 billion).

We’ve also seen several media reports that Trump’s $915 million loss accounted for 1.9 percent of all net operating losses in Corporate America that year. Our databases don’t go back that far, so we can’t confirm that number. But again, for context: AIG’s $12.2 billion loss last year accounts for 4.4 percent of all losses in the S&P 500, Micron Technology’s $11.2 billion loss accounts for 4 percent.

A loss equal to 1.9 percent of all $277.4 billion claimed last year would be roughly $5.27 billion, and only squeak into the 10th spot on our Top 10 list—large, yes, but not yuuuuge.


FREE Calcbench Premium
Two Week Trial

Research Financial & Accounting Data Like Never Before. More features and try our Excel add-in. Sign up now to try the Premium Suite.