RECENT POSTS
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
WeWork Liabilities, Part II

Tuesday, August 20, 2019
WeWork’s Liabilities in Perspective

Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Comparing LinkedIn, Twitter Revenue

Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Leasing’s Effect on Retail Balance Sheets

Thursday, August 1, 2019
Using Calcbench to Find China Exposure

Tuesday, July 30, 2019
Leasing Details: The Comcast Example

Monday, July 29, 2019
Easy Fundamental Equity Analysis in Python

Monday, July 22, 2019
Calcbench Data and Tax Reform Insight

Wednesday, July 17, 2019
Downshifting in the Trucking World

Tuesday, July 16, 2019
New Report: Adoption of New Lease Accounting Standard

Friday, July 5, 2019
More Consequences of Lease Accounting

Monday, July 1, 2019
Another Example of Tax Reform Twisting Bottom Line

Thursday, June 27, 2019
The Latest Share Repurchase Data

Tuesday, June 18, 2019
Popping the Lid on Smuckers’ Goodwill

Tuesday, June 11, 2019
Not Much Fizz in LaCroix Right Now

Wednesday, May 29, 2019
An Example of Calcbench, Excel, and Insight

Monday, May 20, 2019
Research Paper: Capex Spending

Thursday, May 16, 2019
Psst: Got Any Weed?

Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Open Letter: SEC Proposed Rule for BDCs

Friday, May 10, 2019
General Motors and Workhorse

Archive  |  Search:
Our Search for Meaning Continues…
Thursday, September 29, 2016

Good news for Calcbench users who don’t quite know what you’re looking for! We have expanded our text search capabilities, and now offer full text search for proxies, earnings releases, and SEC comment letters, in addition to the text search for 10-Ks and 10-Qs that we’ve always had.

The search function is straightforward. Starting from our home page, you can enter the text of whatever is on your mind (“taxes,” “Brexit,” “oil,” and so forth) in the main search box in the middle of the page.

As you enter your text string, you’ll see a pull-down menu of choices appear immediately below the search box. (See Figure 1, below.)

Look at those choices and see if any match what you want to find. This is important, since many terms you might use have multiple meanings and we want to route you to the right place quickly. For example, “tax” could refer to our own Guide to Analyzing Tax Disclosures, or to the line-item for taxes that companies report, or to the company Liberty Tax Inc., or to any other disclosure that includes the word “tax.”

If one of those specific offerings match what you want to search for, select it. If none of them do, then select the very bottom offering—which will always be a general text search of corporate filings.

Once you enter your search terms, the results will appear on the Footnotes Query page on the left-hand side. From there, you can filter the results by using the “Choose Footnote/Disclosure Type” menu above those results. That’s where you can filter results to SEC comment letters, proxies, earnings releases, items in the quarterly financial statements, and the like. (See Figure 2, below, with the filter menu circled in red.

It’s just another way Calcbench is trying to provide the most data in the most flexible and versatile way possible. If you have any other ideas for how we can improve, just let us know!


FREE Calcbench Premium
Two Week Trial

Research Financial & Accounting Data Like Never Before. More features and try our Excel add-in. Sign up now to try the Premium Suite.