RECENT POSTS
Thursday, March 21, 2019
Tech Data’s Goodwill Adjustment

Tuesday, March 19, 2019
There’s Taxes, and There’s Taxes

Saturday, March 16, 2019
Adventures in Tax Cuts and Net Income

Monday, March 11, 2019
Big Moves in Goodwill, Intangible Value

Friday, March 8, 2019
CVS, Goodwill, and Enterprise Value

Thursday, February 28, 2019
Summary of Our Goodwill Research/ How-To

Wednesday, February 27, 2019
What Does ‘Other’ Mean? An Example

Thursday, February 21, 2019
Another Tale, Buried in the Footnotes

Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Low Latency Calcbench

Monday, February 11, 2019
Now Streaming on Hulu: Red Ink

Thursday, February 7, 2019
Early Look at 2018 Tax Decline

Wednesday, February 6, 2019
You Revised WHAT, Netflix?

Thursday, January 31, 2019
Talking About Huawei Exposure

Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Another Discrepancy in Reported Numbers

Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Finding Revised Facts: Hertz Edition

Wednesday, January 23, 2019
GE Commercial Aviation Services: Bringing Numbers to Light

Monday, January 21, 2019
Differences in Earnings Releases and 10-Ks

Wednesday, January 16, 2019
The Importance of Textual Analysis

Tuesday, January 8, 2019
A Look at Climate Change Disclosures

Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Quants: Point-in-Time Data for Backtesting

Archive  |  Search:
we-decided-to-look-at-the-profitability-of-us
Thursday, December 15, 2011

We decided to look at the profitability of US corporations that reported results in the third quarter of 2011.  To summarize the results, we took the total profits and divided it total revenues.  We grouped the results by A/D* office (a US government classification) in order to summarize our results.  There are about 1250 companies in our sample, and we filtered out A/D groups with less than 25 firms.  The two highest groups include SIC codes like Metal Mining (9), Beverages (9), Semiconductors (10), Electronic Components (10). 

Looking for firms that are above or below the average of their peer group could be valuable. 

* These codes are also used in the Division of Corporation Finance as a basis for assigning review responsibility for the company’s filings. For example, a company whose business was Metal Mining (SIC 1000) would have its filings reviewed by staffers in A/D Office 9.


FREE Calcbench Premium
Two Week Trial

Research Financial & Accounting Data Like Never Before. More features and try our Excel add-in. Sign up now to try the Premium Suite.