RECENT POSTS
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
U.S. firms with Sales in China through 2018.

Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Tracking  Pension Data in Calcbench

Friday, October 4, 2019
In Depth: Leasing Costs in Retail Sector

Thursday, September 19, 2019
Alibaba and Cloud Computing

Monday, September 16, 2019
Introducing Critical Audit Matters

Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Our Fireside Chat on Goodwill Assets

Friday, September 6, 2019
Pulling Forward Share Buybacks

Saturday, August 31, 2019
A Quick Catch-Up on VMWare

Friday, August 23, 2019
By the Numbers: Restructuring Costs Over Time

Wednesday, August 21, 2019
WeWork Liabilities, Part II

Tuesday, August 20, 2019
WeWork’s Liabilities in Perspective

Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Comparing LinkedIn, Twitter Revenue

Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Leasing’s Effect on Retail Balance Sheets

Thursday, August 1, 2019
Using Calcbench to Find China Exposure

Tuesday, July 30, 2019
Leasing Details: The Comcast Example

Monday, July 29, 2019
Easy Fundamental Equity Analysis in Python

Monday, July 22, 2019
Calcbench Data and Tax Reform Insight

Wednesday, July 17, 2019
Downshifting in the Trucking World

Tuesday, July 16, 2019
New Report: Adoption of New Lease Accounting Standard

Friday, July 5, 2019
More Consequences of Lease Accounting

Archive  |  Search:
Income from Loans
Thursday, October 15, 2015

At Calcbench, we are always looking to help our clients get more information from financial data than they have in the past. Here is yet another example. Because of the power of tagged data through, XBRL, we have access to the footnotes of every public company in America. We decided to look at the top 10 American deposit taking banks, as measured by Assets. Next, we collected the Loans Receivable that each of these firms has reported over the last 14 quarters and the fees that each firm has generated from these loans. We charted the ratio of these numbers to give us the implied profitability of the loan book. We have annualized the numbers for comparability. The results are below:

*(All Returns Annualized for comparability)

Do these results imply anything about the credit quality of the loans that certain banks are making? At a cursory glance, we would say that it does appear that Capital One (top, blue line) and Citigroup (gray line)are generating bigger income from their loans than any of their peers. The Citigroup loan book is the smallest of the Big 4 banks (Wells Fargo, Bank Of America and JP Morgan), but they do generate most more income from their book than the others (credit card business). Capital One, has a large credit card business and therefore the biggest income as a percent of their loan book.

This seems pretty straightforward to us. Anyone want to comment?


FREE Calcbench Premium
Two Week Trial

Research Financial & Accounting Data Like Never Before. More features and try our Excel add-in. Sign up now to try the Premium Suite.