RECENT POSTS
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
A Look at Climate Change Disclosures

Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Quants: Point-in-Time Data for Backtesting

Friday, December 28, 2018
Now Showing: Controls & Procedures

Thursday, December 27, 2018
A Reminder on Non-GAAP Reporting Rules

Monday, December 17, 2018
Researching PG&E’s Wildfire Risk

Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Tracking Brexit Disclosures

Thursday, December 6, 2018
Campbell Soup: Looking Behind the Label

Sunday, December 2, 2018
SEC Comment Letters: The Amazon Example

Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Measuring Big Pharma’s Chemical Dependency

Monday, November 26, 2018
Analysts, Can You Relate? A True Story

Monday, November 19, 2018
Digging Up Historical Trend Data: Quest Example

Sunday, November 11, 2018
Cost of Revenue, SG&A: Q3 Update

Monday, November 5, 2018
Lease Accounting: FedEx vs. UPS

Saturday, November 3, 2018
New Email Alerting Powers

Wednesday, October 31, 2018
PTC and Two Tales of Revenue

Tuesday, October 30, 2018
10-K/Q Section Text Change Detection

Sunday, October 28, 2018
Finding Purchase Price Allocation

Sunday, October 21, 2018
Charting Netflix Growth in Three Ways

Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Interesting Data on Interest Income

Thursday, October 11, 2018
The Decline of Sears in Three Charts

Archive  |  Search:
Income from Loans
Thursday, October 15, 2015

At Calcbench, we are always looking to help our clients get more information from financial data than they have in the past. Here is yet another example. Because of the power of tagged data through, XBRL, we have access to the footnotes of every public company in America. We decided to look at the top 10 American deposit taking banks, as measured by Assets. Next, we collected the Loans Receivable that each of these firms has reported over the last 14 quarters and the fees that each firm has generated from these loans. We charted the ratio of these numbers to give us the implied profitability of the loan book. We have annualized the numbers for comparability. The results are below:

*(All Returns Annualized for comparability)

Do these results imply anything about the credit quality of the loans that certain banks are making? At a cursory glance, we would say that it does appear that Capital One (top, blue line) and Citigroup (gray line)are generating bigger income from their loans than any of their peers. The Citigroup loan book is the smallest of the Big 4 banks (Wells Fargo, Bank Of America and JP Morgan), but they do generate most more income from their book than the others (credit card business). Capital One, has a large credit card business and therefore the biggest income as a percent of their loan book.

This seems pretty straightforward to us. Anyone want to comment?


FREE Calcbench Premium
Two Week Trial

Research Financial & Accounting Data Like Never Before. More features and try our Excel add-in. Sign up now to try the Premium Suite.