RECENT POSTS
Tuesday, June 18, 2019
Popping the Lid on Smuckers’ Goodwill

Tuesday, June 11, 2019
Not Much Fizz in LaCroix Right Now

Wednesday, May 29, 2019
An Example of Calcbench, Excel, and Insight

Monday, May 20, 2019
Research Paper: Capex Spending

Thursday, May 16, 2019
Psst: Got Any Weed?

Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Open Letter: SEC Proposed Rule for BDCs

Friday, May 10, 2019
General Motors and Workhorse

Monday, May 6, 2019
How to Find Earnings Release Data

Tuesday, April 23, 2019
Following Restructuring Costs Over Time

Monday, April 22, 2019
Capex Spending: More Than You Might Think

Saturday, April 13, 2019
When AWS Takes Over the World

Thursday, April 11, 2019
Data Trends in Focus: Restructuring Costs

Sunday, April 7, 2019
How One Customer Crushed It With Calcbench

Thursday, April 4, 2019
TJX Shows Complexity of Leasing Costs Reporting

Tuesday, April 2, 2019
CEO Pay Ratios: Some 2018 Thoughts

Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Corporate Spending: Where It Goes, 2017 vs. 2018

Monday, March 25, 2019
Health Insurers: A Bit Winded?

Friday, March 22, 2019
Our New Master Class Video

Thursday, March 21, 2019
Tech Data’s Goodwill Adjustment

Tuesday, March 19, 2019
There’s Taxes, and There’s Taxes

Archive  |  Search:

At Calcbench we specialize in analyzing ‘interactive’ SEC filings…filings that are tagged using the machine readable XBRL format. These filings largely consist of annual and quarterly reports from most every company traded in the U.S.

However, a common criticism of the SEC’s XBRL system is that earnings press releases are not required to be tagged in XBRL. These press releases are documents that give an overview of a company’s results for the period, and they often come out days or even weeks before the full quarterly or annual report.

This means that people relying on interactive data often times have to wait a little while to get financial information that has already been released by the company. We’re working to change that.

Starting this month we are incorporating non-interactive data from earnings press releases into our platform.

To start, we’ll be displaying press release data in our Company in Detail page. You’ll see it marked as ‘Preliminary’, because it is not from a formal XBRL document. When the 10-K or Q arrives, the preliminary column will be replaced with the complete interactive data.


FREE Calcbench Premium
Two Week Trial

Research Financial & Accounting Data Like Never Before. More features and try our Excel add-in. Sign up now to try the Premium Suite.