RECENT POSTS
Tuesday, June 11, 2019
Not Much Fizz in LaCroix Right Now

Wednesday, May 29, 2019
An Example of Calcbench, Excel, and Insight

Monday, May 20, 2019
Research Paper: Capex Spending

Thursday, May 16, 2019
Psst: Got Any Weed?

Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Open Letter: SEC Proposed Rule for BDCs

Friday, May 10, 2019
General Motors and Workhorse

Monday, May 6, 2019
How to Find Earnings Release Data

Tuesday, April 23, 2019
Following Restructuring Costs Over Time

Monday, April 22, 2019
Capex Spending: More Than You Might Think

Saturday, April 13, 2019
When AWS Takes Over the World

Thursday, April 11, 2019
Data Trends in Focus: Restructuring Costs

Sunday, April 7, 2019
How One Customer Crushed It With Calcbench

Thursday, April 4, 2019
TJX Shows Complexity of Leasing Costs Reporting

Tuesday, April 2, 2019
CEO Pay Ratios: Some 2018 Thoughts

Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Corporate Spending: Where It Goes, 2017 vs. 2018

Monday, March 25, 2019
Health Insurers: A Bit Winded?

Friday, March 22, 2019
Our New Master Class Video

Thursday, March 21, 2019
Tech Data’s Goodwill Adjustment

Tuesday, March 19, 2019
There’s Taxes, and There’s Taxes

Saturday, March 16, 2019
Adventures in Tax Cuts and Net Income

Archive  |  Search:

Perhaps you’ve noticed our new company explorer?

Anywhere you see the gold “Choose Companies” button, you can open our new tool to select groups of companies for comparing, searching, etc.

One of the most powerful new features is the ability to screen on a variety of metrics to quickly tailor a peer group to your needs. Then you can save it for later use.

First, a note about peer groups. We often hear people say that peer analysis doesn’t make senses for some companies because they are unique and have no direct peers. This is simply not true.

Every public company has peers, of course. Peers don’t have to be identical businesses. But for some of these complicated cases, the peer group you use can (and should!) vary based on the analysis. For example, looking at profitability ratios? Build a peer group of companies with similar income statement structures. (SAAS companies have very different structures than manufacturing companies.) On the other hand, if you are benchmarking pension plans, the peer group should be similar sized companies with pension plans…regardless of industry.

So, how do you build these peer groups?

First, you can navigate through our explorer to build a list of potential peers. Then use the screen/filter tool to narrow it down using any of our standardized metrics or ratios, or (if you’re feeling brave) based on XBRL tag. In the simple example above, I’ve screened a group of airline companies for revenue greater then $1 billion. Here is the result:

Finally, I can name it and save it. In addition, if I want to get an email when a new filing comes in for any of these companies, I can check the box for that. 


FREE Calcbench Premium
Two Week Trial

Research Financial & Accounting Data Like Never Before. More features and try our Excel add-in. Sign up now to try the Premium Suite.