RECENT POSTS
Monday, January 21, 2019
Differences in Earnings Releases and 10-Ks

Wednesday, January 16, 2019
The Importance of Textual Analysis

Tuesday, January 8, 2019
A Look at Climate Change Disclosures

Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Quants: Point-in-Time Data for Backtesting

Friday, December 28, 2018
Now Showing: Controls & Procedures

Thursday, December 27, 2018
A Reminder on Non-GAAP Reporting Rules

Monday, December 17, 2018
Researching PG&E’s Wildfire Risk

Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Tracking Brexit Disclosures

Thursday, December 6, 2018
Campbell Soup: Looking Behind the Label

Sunday, December 2, 2018
SEC Comment Letters: The Amazon Example

Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Measuring Big Pharma’s Chemical Dependency

Monday, November 26, 2018
Analysts, Can You Relate? A True Story

Monday, November 19, 2018
Digging Up Historical Trend Data: Quest Example

Sunday, November 11, 2018
Cost of Revenue, SG&A: Q3 Update

Monday, November 5, 2018
Lease Accounting: FedEx vs. UPS

Saturday, November 3, 2018
New Email Alerting Powers

Wednesday, October 31, 2018
PTC and Two Tales of Revenue

Tuesday, October 30, 2018
10-K/Q Section Text Change Detection

Sunday, October 28, 2018
Finding Purchase Price Allocation

Sunday, October 21, 2018
Charting Netflix Growth in Three Ways

Archive  |  Search:

Many thanks to Jason Voss and the ‘Enterprising Investor’ Blog at the CFA institute for publishing this great interview with us and overview about Calcbench: http://blogs.cfainstitute.org/investor/2015/06/24/xbrl-will-change-your-research-analyst-life/.

One of Jason’s previous posts from May (The Top Five Accounting Mistakes Analysts Make) really resonated with us because it so clearly highlighted some of the problems with current research tools which can be solved by the richness of XBRL. So we’re very pleased that he was able to follow up with this interview, allowing us to talk in detail about how XBRL can help analysts both save time, and push their research to a higher level.

Let’s take a look some of those mistakes, and how Calcbench can help:

1. Using Generalized Financial Statements

The problem? Existing data providers tend to view the world as a two dimensional spreadsheet template. Anything that doesn’t fit in that template gets discarded.

The solution? Calcbench brings you easy access to as-reported line item detail…in the financial statements and everywhere else. Plus we spread it out over time for you, and make it very easy to pop in into your Excel model.

3. Not Creating Apples-to-Apples Comparisons in Time

The problem? Income statements are computed quarterly for only 3 of the four quarters. And cash flow statements for only one of the four.  

The solution? Calcbench automatically calculates Q4 values for you on the income statement and quarterly values for the cash flow statements for our as reported and normalized metrics alike.

5. Not Reading the Footnotes

Why don’t people read the footnotes? In our opinion it is in large part because 10-Ks and 10-Qs are outdated and out of touch with how people consume data these days.

The solution? Use our interactive footnote viewer for a completely new experience. You can instantly find the information you’re looking for, plus compare it to other companies, and over time, all without ever opening up an SEC filing! Then pull out the numbers, or trace from the numbers back to the text. Best is you can do this online, or without leaving Excel.

Let XBRL start changing your life today…join Calcbench now!


FREE Calcbench Premium
Two Week Trial

Research Financial & Accounting Data Like Never Before. More features and try our Excel add-in. Sign up now to try the Premium Suite.