RECENT POSTS
Thursday, March 26, 2020
GILTI Tax Data: Yeah, We Got That

Monday, March 23, 2020
Exec Comp: Another Interesting Trend

Thursday, March 19, 2020
Trends in Executive Comp, 2010-2018

Wednesday, March 18, 2020
Another Look at Strength of Balance Sheets

Wednesday, March 11, 2020
Studying Debt Levels

Wednesday, March 4, 2020
A Q&A on Using Calcbench Data for Academic Research

Monday, March 2, 2020
Calcbench Talkin’ Shop!

Thursday, February 27, 2020
A Broader Look at Coronavirus Risk

Thursday, February 20, 2020
Yum Brands and Coronovirus Damage

Wednesday, February 12, 2020
Another Calcbench Use Case: Benchmarking DPO Changes

Tuesday, February 11, 2020
Updated Calcbench Excel Add-In

Monday, February 10, 2020
Hot Take on Cooling PPE Outlays

Monday, February 3, 2020
A Brief History of Juul Impairment Charges

Thursday, January 30, 2020
Research Note: Impairment of Leased Assets

Tuesday, January 28, 2020
Tracking Coronavirus Risk, Disclosures

Thursday, January 23, 2020
How to Find a Material Weakness

Sunday, January 19, 2020
Calcbench Tip: Email Alerts

Sunday, January 19, 2020
Calcbench Tip: Text Disclosures

Tuesday, January 14, 2020
Devising an Impairment Sensitivity Test

Thursday, January 9, 2020
Acuity Impairment on Leased Asset

Archive  |  Search:

Today, the Wall Street Journal printed a great overview by Theo Francis (with a little data help from Calcbench) about unrecognized tax benefits: what they are, who is taking advantage of them, and what does it all mean.

image

Now, what if you’d like to learn more?  Easiest way is to jump right into the tax footnotes of some of these companies using our Footnote Query. You can select a company, an industry group, or a major index like the S&P500. Then choose the Income Taxes disclosure, and start reading:

image

What if you want to narrow your search even more? Type the word ‘unrecognized’ in the “Footnote Table or schedule type” box and you’ll get a  list of standard disclosure tables pertaining to unrecognized tax, AND the number of companies in your group have each of these tables! Choose which one you want to look at and go…

image


FREE Calcbench Premium
Two Week Trial

Research Financial & Accounting Data Like Never Before. More features and try our Excel add-in. Sign up now to try the Premium Suite.